Women Who Took Part in Convention Suffrage Fight

Randolph Hollingsworth's picture

Undated clipping from Pettit, Duncan, Gibson Family Papers 2009MS172, Box 199a, University of Kentucky Special Collections and Archives.

[caption] Left to Right - Mrs. Lafon [Martina Grubbs] Riker, Harrodburg, president of the State Federation of Women's Clubs; Miss Laura Clay, chairman of the delegation opposing ratification of the Susan B. Anthony amendment; Mrs. John B. [Alice Barbee] Castleman, chairman of the delegation representing the Kentucky Equal Rights Association; Mrs. Harrison Gardner [Elizabeth D. Gibson] Foster, member of Miss Clay's delegation; Mrs. Edmund M. [Josephine Fowler] Post, Paducah, member of the executive board of the National Woman's Suffrage Association and member of the delegation urging ratification of the Susan B. Anthony amendment.

This clipping could be referring to the NAWSA's lobbying work in 1917 in Washington D.C. when they were lobbying for the passage of what by then became known as the "Susan B. Anthony Amendment" during the 65th and 66th sessions of Congress. Or they could have been all together at the Democratic State Convention in September 1919 (Mrs. Post was the Kentucky representative of the National Executive Council of the NAWSA then also) when Laura Clay had started the Citizen's Committee for a State Suffrage Amendment and was actively campaigning for state control of voter rights.