NVWT marker for Eugenia B. Farmer

Image for National Votes for Women Trail marker for Eugenia B. Farmer - located at Trinity Episcopal Church, 326 Madison Avenue, Covington KY @39.0874177,-84.5807303

The marker content states: "Eugenia B. Farmer statewide suffrage leader. Led fight for women's school suffrage in Ky. Helped host state suffrage conventon here in 1897. (William C. Pomeroy Foundation 2021, [marker no.] 113)

Kentucky Female School Superintendents Prior to School Suffrage in 1912

In 1912 the Kentucky General Assembly passed legislation giving literate women who otherwise met the same requirements as men, the right to vote in school elections. Sixty-one women in forty-eight counties were elected as County Superintendent of Schools in the years before this legislation was passed. Amanda T. Million was the first female superintendent in Kentucky. She was appointed in 1886 to fill her deceased husband’s unexpired term and was subsequently elected to the office twice.

Mary C. Roark, 1861-1922

Mary Caroline Creegan Roark (1 September 1861 - 1 February 1922) was born just south of Brighton, Iowa, on a family farm in Walnut Township, Jefferson County, Iowa, the daughter of Mary Ann McKee Creegan, of Ohio and Daniel Creegan, a farmer from Virginia.

Subscribe to RSS - School Suffrage