Connections between Kentucky and Tennessee - history of woman suffrage and voting rights today

KY Woman Suffrage

This post was co-written by Dr. Randolph Hollingsworth (coordinator for the Kentucky Woman Suffrage Project) and Dr. Margaret Spratt (coordinator for the Tennessee entries for the Women and Social Movements in the U.S. project on woman suffrage) as they consider a proposal to the National Endowment for the Humanities for a community outreach project to include both Kentucky and Tennessee:

Clay, Farmer, Henry speaking on women's rights in KY House of Representatives, 13 January 1898

A broadside available at the University of Kentucky's Laura Clay papers, Special Collections Research Center. It reads: "Public Speaking! at the Representative Hall. Miss Laura Clay, Mrs. Eugenia B. Farmer, Mrs. Josephine K.

Irvin, Helen Deiss. Women in Kentucky. Lexington: The University Press of Kentucky, 1979.

Author(s)/Editor(s): Helen Deiss Irvin       

Title: Women in Kentucky                                                                                                                 

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

Date of Publication: 1979

Married Woman's Property Act

The Married Woman’s Property Act becomes a law with the signature of Governor John Young Brown. This law says that women are able to hold property after they are married, rather than it becoming the property of their husband, which was the case previously. This new Act is the result of lobbying by the Kentucky Equal Rights Association, especially Josephine K. Henry. 


Kentucky Equal Rights Association. Minutes of the Seventh Annual Convention, Held at Merrick Lodge, Lexington, KY, 1894 (Covington: Ledger Printing Co.), 12.

In Their Own Words

KY Woman Suffrage

            Hi there everyone! It’s Thursday once again, and you know what that means, another update from us here at the Kentucky Woman Suffrage Project. This week has been an exciting and busy one as we continue to work on our portal and database, which will be rolling out to all of you guys very soon! Even with all those new developments, research hasn’t stopped, so I’ll give you an update on that. This week I set out to find out more about the writing of suffragists themselves.

Committee Travels to Frankfort for Constitutional Convention

The committee elected during the third annual convention to go to the 1890 Constitutional Convention arrives in Frankfort on the 8th. This committee includes: Mrs. M.A. Watts, Miss Laura Clay, Mrs. Josphine K. Henry, Mrs. Mary Barr Clay, and Mrs. Eugenia B. Farmer. Mrs. Sarah H. Sawyer joins them though she was not initially selected.


Subscribe to RSS - Josephine Henry