CFA> NEH Summer Institute for Higher Education Faculty, "Ritual Arts in Hinduism and Buddhism" June 19-July 3, 2022

This two-week Summer Institute will provide an overview of the distinctive rituals and the associated ritual arts of the two major world religions of South and Southeast Asia. To balance the usual college course emphasis on doctrine defining religious traditions, this Institute will focus on the distinctive forms of praxis that express and act upon each faith’s central beliefs.

AAR> Exploratory Session: Poetics, Poiesis, and Buddhist Experiments with the Possible

Dear colleagues,

We invite you to join us for an exploratory session on Buddhist poetic language at the 2021 American Academy of Religion Annual Meeting. The roundtable session will be held online, with panelists’ brief presentations followed by an open discussion. Please note that the session will not be recorded.

 

Exploratory Session

Theme: Poetics, Poiesis, and Buddhist Experiments with the Possible

Sunday, 9:00 AM-11:00 AM (Virtual) (Central Standard Time, UTC/GMT -6 hours) 

TALK> Art History at Lunch (CUHK) by Zhao Jinchao, "The Gongxian Caves and Contemporary Northern Henan: Steles and Statues of Gongyi-Zhengzhou Area in the First Half of the Sixth Century"

Virtual workshop series, Art History at Lunch (CUHK) by Zhao Jinchao, "The Gongxian Caves and Contemporary Northern Henan: Steles and Statues of Gongyi-Zhengzhou Area in the First Half of the Sixth Century" (鞏縣石窟與六世紀河南北部的佛教藝術: 以佛像與石碑為例)

 

Speaker: Zhao Jinchao 趙晉超 (NYU Shanghai/Fudan University)

October 29, 2021 (Friday) at 1-2:15 PM (Hong Kong and Beijing), 2-3:15 PM (Seoul and Tokyo), 3-4:15 PM (Sidney), 5-6:15 AM (GMT); 

October 28, 10-11:30 PM (PST); 7-8:30 PM (Hawai’i)

 

Zoom Meeting ID: 913 2308 0481 (Passcode: 904206)

CONFERENCE> A Forest of Knowledge, in Honour of Dr. Koichi Shinohara’s 80th Birthday (October 14–16, 2021, Zoom)

Dear colleagues,

We are excited to announce that the registration for A Forest of Knowledge about the Texts and Images regarding Buddhist Saints, Sages, Translators, and Encyclopedists: A Conference in Honour of Dr. Koichi Shinohara’s 80th Birthday is open.

Date: October 14–16, 2021

Time: Conference begins daily at 6:00 am PDT | 9:00 EDT | 2:00pm UK | 9:00pm China

Registration: https://ubc.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_RdvG7zHIQd6YlMTTyWS8_Q

CONFERENCE > A Forest of Knowledge about the Texts and Images regarding Buddhist Saints, Sages, Translators, and Encyclopedists: A Conference in Honour of Dr. Koichi Shinohara’s 80th Birthday

Dear colleagues,

We are excited to announce that the registration for A Forest of Knowledge about the Texts and Images regarding Buddhist Saints, Sages, Translators, and Encyclopedists: A Conference in Honour of Dr. Koichi Shinohara’s 80th Birthday is open.

Date: October 14–16, 2021

Time: Conference begins daily at 6:00 am PDT | 9:00 EDT | 2:00pm UK | 9:00pm China

Registration: https://ubc.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_RdvG7zHIQd6YlMTTyWS8_Q

Subscribe to RSS - Buddhist texts