Browse H-Net Reviews

Author: 
Andie Tucher
Reviewer: 
Eric Walls

Walls on Tucher, 'Not Exactly Lying: Fake News and Fake Journalism in American History'

Andie Tucher. Not Exactly Lying: Fake News and Fake Journalism in American History. New York: Columbia University Press, 2022. 384 pp. $30.00 (cloth), ISBN 978-0-231-18634-6; $28.00 (paper), ISBN 978-0-231-18635-3

Author: 
Kellie Carter Jackson
Reviewer: 
Beverly Tomek

Tomek on Carter Jackson, 'Force and Freedom: Black Abolitionists and the Politics of Violence'

Kellie Carter Jackson. Force and Freedom: Black Abolitionists and the Politics of Violence. America in the Nineteenth Century. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2020. 225 pp. $24.95 (paper), ISBN 978-0-8122-2470-2

Author: 
Royden Loewen
Reviewer: 
Leo C. L. Chu

Chu on Loewen, 'Mennonite Farmers: A Global History of Place and Sustainability'

Royden Loewen. Mennonite Farmers: A Global History of Place and Sustainability. Young Center Books in Anabaptist and Pietist Studies. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press, 2021. 348 pp. $52.00 (e-book), ISBN 978-0-88755-966-2; $52.00 (paper), ISBN 978-1-4214-4203-7.

Reviewed by Leo C. L. Chu (Cambridge University) Published on H-Environment (November, 2022) Commissioned by Daniella McCahey (Texas Tech University)

Author: 
Adrian Daub
Reviewer: 
Emily Bruce

Bruce on Daub, 'The Dynastic Imagination: Family and Modernity in Nineteenth-Century Germany'

Adrian Daub. The Dynastic Imagination: Family and Modernity in Nineteenth-Century Germany. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2020. 253 pp. $95.00 (cloth), ISBN 978-0-226-73773-7; $29.00 (paper), ISBN 978-0-226-73787-4

Author: 
Mia Bloom, Sophia Moskalenko
Reviewer: 
Stephanie J. Richmond

Richmond on Bloom and Moskalenko, 'Pastels and Pedophiles: Inside the Mind of QAnon'

Mia Bloom, Sophia Moskalenko. Pastels and Pedophiles: Inside the Mind of QAnon. Stanford: Redwood Press, 2021. ix + 243 pp. $20.00 (cloth), ISBN 978-1-5036-3029-1

Reviewed by Stephanie J. Richmond (Norfolk State University) Published on H-War (November, 2022) Commissioned by Margaret Sankey (Air University)

Author: 
Arve Hansen, Andrei Rogatchevski, Yngvar Bordewich Steinholt, David-Emil Wickström
Reviewer: 
Yan Vuks

Vuks on Hansen and Rogatchevski and Steinholt and Wickström, 'A War of Songs: Popular Music and Recent Russia-Ukraine Relations'

Arve Hansen, Andrei Rogatchevski, Yngvar Bordewich Steinholt, David-Emil Wickström. A War of Songs: Popular Music and Recent Russia-Ukraine Relations. Stuttgart: ibidem Press, 2019. 250 pp. $40.00 (paper), ISBN 978-3-8382-1173-2

 

Calls for Review Editors

New Book Review Editor and a Call for Reviewers

Hello, everyone!

If I may introduce myself: I am the new Book Review Editor on H-Rhetor, and I am excited to work with you. I am currently a PhD fellow in the Institute for Writing Studies at St. John's University, focusing on feminist rhetoric and digital feminism.

I'd also like to take this opportunity to solicit book reviewers for H-Rhetor. If anyone is interested in this, please contact me, and we can discuss the opportunity.

Thank you!

Cristen Fitzpatrick

Re: Editor Stepping Down

Dear All, 

Allow me to again thank Clare for her service on behalf of this intellectual community, and to let subscribers know that we do have two new volunteer editors who are in training and will be taking over the editorial work in the coming weeks. You may see a little pause in activity while that happens, but rest assured, we'll be back up and running in no time. 

Kind Regards, 

David Prior
Vice President for Networks, H-Net
Assistant Professor of History, UNM

Pages

Calls for Reviewers

New Review Editor

Dear H-Borderlands suscribers,

My name is Ángeles Picone and I am one of the co-editors of the network. I am happy to announce I will also be serving as Review Editor. 

You have been receiving our Book Digest that we prepare from the Book Channel. Now, we can write and read reviews about our growing field.

I invite you to either contact me if you are willing to review a book and/or to indicate your interest in your H-Net profile (this is a new feature). Also, please visit the H-Net Reviews if you want to look at other reviews. 

Call For Reviewers: H-Empire.

Apologies for any cross-posting.

H-Empire is seeking scholars to add to their database of reviewers. We'd like to hear from candidates in any level of tertiary education as well as independent and established scholars. H-Empire publishes reviews on all aspects of imperial and colonial studies and are interested in hearing from scholars in any field of research encompassed by these themes.

Pages