Browse H-Net Reviews

Author: 
Anne W. Gulick
Reviewer: 
Babacar M'Baye

M'Baye on Gulick, 'Literature, Law, and Rhetorical Performance in the Anticolonial Atlantic'

Anne W. Gulick. Literature, Law, and Rhetorical Performance in the Anticolonial Atlantic. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 2016. xi + 258 pp. $99.95 (cloth), ISBN 978-0-8142-1302-5; $34.95 (paper), ISBN 978-0-8142-5213-0.

Reviewed by Babacar M'Baye (Kent State University) Published on H-Law (October, 2018) Commissioned by Michael J. Pfeifer (John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York)

Author: 
Dane Keith Kennedy
Reviewer: 
Nathaniel Bassett

Bassett on Kennedy, 'The Imperial History Wars: Debating the British Empire'

Dane Keith Kennedy. The Imperial History Wars: Debating the British Empire. London: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2018. 232 pp. $29.95 (paper), ISBN 978-1-4742-7886-7.

Reviewed by Nathaniel Bassett (University of Akron) Published on H-Albion (October, 2018) Commissioned by Jeffrey R. Wigelsworth (Red Deer College)

Printable Version: http://www.h-net.org/reviews/showpdf.php?id=52163

Author: 
Brandon Valeriano, Benjamin M. Jensen, Ryan C. Maness
Reviewer: 
Richard Harknett

Harknett on Valeriano and Jensen and Maness, 'Cyber Strategy: The Evolving Character of Power and Coercion'

Brandon Valeriano, Benjamin M. Jensen, Ryan C. Maness. Cyber Strategy: The Evolving Character of Power and Coercion. New York: Oxford University Press, 2018. 320 pp. $34.95 (cloth), ISBN 978-0-19-061809-4.

Reviewed by Richard Harknett (University of Cincinnati) Published on H-Diplo (October, 2018) Commissioned by Seth Offenbach (Bronx Community College, The City University of New York)

Author: 
Kristen Rogheh Ghodsee
Reviewer: 
Wim de Jong

de Jong on Ghodsee, 'Red Hangover: Legacies of Twentieth-Century Communism'

Kristen Rogheh Ghodsee. Red Hangover: Legacies of Twentieth-Century Communism. Durham: Duke University Press, 2017. 264 pp. $24.95 (paper), ISBN 978-0-8223-6949-3.

Reviewed by Wim de Jong (Open University) Published on H-Socialisms (October, 2018) Commissioned by Gary Roth (Rutgers University - Newark)

Printable Version: http://www.h-net.org/reviews/showpdf.php?id=51132

Author: 
Paul J. Heer
Reviewer: 
Kevin Grimm

Grimm on Heer, 'Mr. X and the Pacific: George F. Kennan and American Policy in East Asia'

Paul J. Heer. Mr. X and the Pacific: George F. Kennan and American Policy in East Asia. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2018. 320 pp. $37.95 (cloth), ISBN 978-1-5017-1114-5.

Reviewed by Kevin Grimm (Regent University) Published on H-Diplo (October, 2018) Commissioned by Seth Offenbach (Bronx Community College, The City University of New York)

Author: 
Jessica Riskin
Reviewer: 
Susannah Gibson

Gibson on Riskin, 'The Restless Clock: A History of the Centuries-Long Argument over What Makes Living Things Tick'

Jessica Riskin. The Restless Clock: A History of the Centuries-Long Argument over What Makes Living Things Tick. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016. 544 pp. $40.00 (cloth), ISBN 978-0-226-30292-8; $30.00 (paper), ISBN 978-0-226-52826-7.

Reviewed by Susannah Gibson (Cambridge Philosophical Society) Published on H-Sci-Med-Tech (October, 2018) Commissioned by Dominic J. Berry (London School of Economics and Political Science)

Pages

 

Calls for Review Editors

Pages

Calls for Reviewers

New Review Editor

Dear H-Borderlands suscribers,

My name is Ángeles Picone and I am one of the co-editors of the network. I am happy to announce I will also be serving as Review Editor. 

You have been receiving our Book Digest that we prepare from the Book Channel. Now, we can write and read reviews about our growing field.

I invite you to either contact me if you are willing to review a book and/or to indicate your interest in your H-Net profile (this is a new feature). Also, please visit the H-Net Reviews if you want to look at other reviews. 

Call For Reviewers: H-Empire.

Apologies for any cross-posting.

H-Empire is seeking scholars to add to their database of reviewers. We'd like to hear from candidates in any level of tertiary education as well as independent and established scholars. H-Empire publishes reviews on all aspects of imperial and colonial studies and are interested in hearing from scholars in any field of research encompassed by these themes.

Pages