Conference on the Sowell Collection

Diane Warner's picture
April 21, 2016 to April 23, 2016
Texas, United States
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Contemporary History, Environmental History / Studies, Literature

The Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library of Texas Tech University is once again celebrating the Sowell Collection.  Our featured writers and guests include Barry Lopez, Kurt Caswell, Toni Jensen, Lisa Couturier, James Warren, and John Lane.  All events for the Sowell Conference are free and open to students, faculty and the community.

We invite proposals for individual presentations and panels that engage with the work(s) of the Sowell Collection writers.  Scholarly and creative submissions from multiple disciplines are welcome.   We also welcome proposals that deal with public lands and wilderness; the treatment of animals; the future of foods; and weather in a time of climate change.

Created through the generous support of former Texas Tech University Regent James Sowell, the Sowell Collection contains the personal papers of some of the most prominent writers on the natural world.  Writers of the Sowell Collection include Rick Bass, Max Crawford, David James Duncan, Gretel Ehrlich, Clyde Jones, William Kittredge, John Lane, Barry Lopez, Walter McDonald, Bill McKibben, Susan Brind Morrow, Gary Paul Nabhan, Doug Peacock, Robert Michael Pyle, David Quammen, Marc Reisner, Pattiann Rogers, Sandra Scofield, Annick Smith, and Ro Wauer.  Newly added (though unprocessed) collections include those of writer Paul Hawken and the business archives of the Orion Society.

Information about the Sowell Collection and the writers can be found at:

Deadline for submission of proposals is March 15, 2016.

Contact Info: 

Diane Warner, Ph.D.

Librarian for the Sowell Family Collection

In Literature, Community and the Natural World

Dept. Head for Rare Books


Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library

Box 41041

Texas Tech University

Lubbock, TX 79409-1041



806-742-0496 (fax)

Contact Email: