Graham Foundation Anounces New Deadline for Carter Manny Award

Stephanie Whitlock's picture
November 15, 2015
United States
Subject Fields: 
Architecture and Architectural History, Art, Art History & Visual Studies

The Graham Foundation announces a new application deadline for theCarter Manny Award, the foundation’s annual award for doctoral students working on dissertation topics in architecture. The annual application deadline is now November 15. Applicants will be notified of funding decisions in early spring of each year. 

Applications for the 2016 Carter Manny Award are due November 15, 2015

Since the Carter Manny Award’s establishment in 1996, over $672,000 has been awarded to support promising scholars whose doctoral projects shape contemporary discourse about architecture and significantly impact the field. Two Carter Manny Awards are given each year, one for dissertation writing and one for dissertation research. The foundation offers this prestigious annual award in honor of Carter H. Manny and his distinguished service to the Graham Foundation since its inception in 1956, first as a Trustee, as Director from 1971, and since his retirement in 1993, as Director Emeritus.

Application available online: September 15, 2015
Application deadline: November 15, 2015
Grant decision notification: Spring 2016

Students must be nominated by their department to apply for the CarterManny Award. The award is open to students officially enrolled in schools in the U.S. and Canada, regardless of citizenship. Further information about the application and award eligibility will be available on the Graham Foundation website on September 15, 2015

Watch for our forthcoming announcement of the recipients of the 2015Carter Manny Award on October 6, 2015.

To receive news and notifications about Graham Foundation grants, sign up for our email list or follow us on twitter (@GrahamFound) and Facebook.

Graham Foundation
for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts
Madlener House, 4 West Burton Place
Chicago, IL 60610, US