STS Futures: A Symposium - Feb. 7th, 2020 - York University (Canada)

Michael Laurentius Discussion

STS Futures: A Symposium

The graduate program in Science & Technology Studies at York University is pleased to host the inaugural STS Futures symposium on February 7, 2020 from 9:00am-5:30pm. Light refreshments to be served from 8:30-9:00am.
We invite scholars to reflect on the changing landscapes of STS, to consider the futures of STS as discipline, practice, field or assemblage, and to discuss the future of graduate training in STS. STS as a field has increasing social and political relevance for the world as we see dramatic shifts in the climate, speculative claims about computer-human interfaces, disturbing trends in security practices, increasing public mistrust of evidence and its relationship to policy, private forays into space exploration, and new revolutionary technologies across a range of fields. There will be three roundtable discussions to uncover this landscape: Knowledge Infrastructures; Activisms; Democracies and Publics.
 The event will begin with a keynote by esteemed scholar Dr. Sheila Jasanoff, followed by the roundtables with STS scholars and graduate students from the EU, UK, US, and Canada to consider the multiple futures of STS, including the importance of graduate training in the future of STS as a field/discipline, and to imagine new innovative models for critical pedagogy in STS.


When: Friday, February 7, 2020; 9:00am–5:30pmWhere: 140 HNES, Keele Campus, York University (map) Admission is free. All are welcome.If you would like to attend, please RSVP in advance. Website: For more information, please contact the Organizing Committee Chair: Denielle Elliott.


Sheila Jasanoff
Ulrike Felt
Suman Seth
Bill Turkel
Jonathan RobergeBanu Subramaniam
Raquel Velho
Orit Halpern
Sergio SismondoJoan Fujimura
Kelly Bronson
Yves Gingras
Alessandro Delfanti
Patrick Keilty Plus York faculty and graduate students
Conor Douglas
Youssif Hassan
Sarah Qidwai (UofT)
Aryn Martin
Eric Kennedy
Chandni Vadhavana
Hélène Mialet
Natasha Myers
Drew Belsky
Alex Rutherford