Lecture: Shared Soundscapes: The Legacy of Polish Jews in Music

Patrice Dabrowski's picture
 
Shared Soundscapes: The Legacy of Polish Jews in Music

Professor Halina Goldberg will deliver this year's first Distinguished Lecture at POLIN Museum. She will discuss the contribution of Polish Jews to the field of music.

  • March 14 (Sunday), 8:00 PM CET / 2:00 PM EST / 11:00 AM PST / 9:00 PM Israel
  • Broadcast live in English on POLIN Museum YouTube
  • Professor Judah M. Cohen will be the moderator.

This lecture will challenge the assumption that Jewish and non-Jewish musical spaces were separate from each other and that each group lived in completely different soundscapes. 

Documents from across the centuries show that despite legal restrictions and fierce competition, there were many opportunities for Jewish and non-Jewish musicians to cooperate. Professor Goldberg will explore the musical heritage of Polish Jews through the prism of circumstances that enabled Jewish and Christian musicians to create together – to learn from each other and to share repertoires and musical languages. She will also consider the role of Jewish musical patronage in these interactions.

Sound recordings of fragments of newly discovered musical works created by Polish Jews will be included in the presentation.

» READ MORE
» JOIN TO THE EVENT 
ON FACEBOOK