PIASA 2019 Award Recipients

Patrice Dabrowski's picture

The Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America (PIASA) is pleased to announce and congratulate its 2019 Award Recipients in seven categories:


Susanne Lotarski Distinguished Achievement Award: Dr. Antony Polonsky, Emeritus Professor of Holocaust Studies, Brandeis University.

The Oskar Halecki Polish History Award: Dr. Anna Műller, University of Michigan-Dearborn, for her book If the Walls Could Speak: Inside a Women’s Prison in Communist Poland (New York: Oxford University Press, 2018).


The Casimir Funk Natural Sciences Award: Dr. Jack William Szostak, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, for his outstanding contributions to the field of genetics.


The Bronislaw Malinowski Social Sciences Award: Dr. Jeffrey S. Kopstein, University of California, Irvine, and Dr. Jason Wittenberg, University of California, Berkeley, for their book Intimate Violence: Anti-Jewish Pogroms on the Eve of the Holocaust (Ithaca and London: Cornell University Press, 2018).

The Waclaw Lednicki Humanities Award: Dr. Marek Haltof, Northern Michigan University, for his book Screening Auschwitz: Wanda Jakubowska’s The Last Stage” and the Politics of Commemoration (Evanston, Ill.: Northwestern University Press, 2018).

The Tadeusz Sendzimir Applied Sciences Award: Halina Zyczynski, MD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, for her contributions to clinical research in urogynecology. 

The Ludwik Krzyzanowski Polish Review Award: Christopher Garbowski, Maria Curie Skłodowska University in Lublin, for his article "The City as a Lieu de Memoire: Phenomenological, Symbolic, and Self-Reflective Levels of the Past in Lublin's Present," The Polish Review 63/3, pp. 35-48.