Book Talk: A Polish Jewish Artist in Turmoil: The Life and Work of Samuel Hirszenberg

Patrice Dabrowski's picture
 
A Polish Jewish Artist in Turmoil: The Life and Work of Samuel  Hirszenberg

Mirjam Rajner and Richard Cohen will discuss the life and work of Samuel Hirszenberg (1865–1908) in relation to the artistic movements of his time, the subject of their new book.

  • In English on YouTube, open to all. 2 October (Sunday), 2:00 PM EDT / 11:00 AM PDT / 8:00 PM CET / 9:00 PM Israel
Having lived through the dramatic historical events of his time, Hirszenberg devoted his later symbolist works to the theme of displacement – “The Wandering Jew,” “Exile,” and “Czarny Sztandar / Black Flag. Inspired by the idea of Jewish national revival, these works became Zionist icons. A native son of Łódź, Hirszenberg is immortalized today in his hometown, where his work can be seen in the palace of Izrael Poznański, his patron.
» READ MORE
Categories: Book, New Publication