Announcing the 2016 North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame Inductees

Sarah Carrier's picture

On Sunday, October 16, at 2:00 pm, the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame will induct three new members.  Clyde Edgerton, Margaret Maron, and Carl Sandburg will join the fifty-seven inductees currently enshrined in a ceremony at the Weymouth Center for the Arts and Humanities in Southern Pines.  The NCLHoF celebrates and promotes the state’s rich literary heritage by commemorating its leading authors and encouraging the continued flourishing of great literature. Inductions are held every other year.  

The NCLHoF was founded in 1996 and is a program of the North Carolina Writers’ Network.  Since 2008, the North Carolina Collection (UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries), NC Center for the Book (State Library of NC), and the NC Humanities Council collaborate with the Network and the Weymouth Center in organizing and co-sponsoring the  induction ceremony and in  promoting the NCLHOF. 

The ceremony is free and open to the public.

Here’s a link to more information on the NCLHoF and the induction ceremony: