Call for Nominees: Frederick Jackson Turner Award--Midwestern History

Pamela Riney-Kehrberg's picture

Call for Nominees:  Frederick Jackson Turner Award

The Frederick Jackson Turner Award for Lifetime Achievement in Midwestern History is an annual award, given to senior scholars and/or public historians.  It is intended to honor historians whose work carries forth Turner’s interest and influence upon the practice of Midwestern history across multiple professional dimensions. The individual receiving this award should have demonstrated a long-standing commitment to the promotion of the history of the Midwest.  Evidence of this commitment can include, but is not limited to:

·         Publication of a body of books or articles on the subject.

·         Publication of a single, particularly important book or article on the subject.

·         A long and distinguished career within a Midwestern historical agency.

·         Teaching and training that has promoted the history of the Midwest.

·         Service within historical organizations that has promoted the history of the Midwest.


Previous winners have included Margaret Beattie Bogue (Emerita, University of Wisconsin-Madison), John E. Miller (Emeritus, South Dakota State University), and James H. Madison (The Thomas and Kathryn Miller Professor Emeritus, Indiana University).  The Turner Award committee invites nominations from scholars across disciplines, but whose focus is principally historical.

Please submit a nomination letter to Dr. Brian Hosmer, chair of the Turner Award Committee, at  Nominations should be made no later than March 1, 2017, for consideration.  The winner will be announced at the June 2017 meeting of the Midwestern History Association, in Grand Rapids, Michigan.