Call for Nominees: Dorothy Schwieder Prize--Midwestern History

Pamela Riney-Kehrberg's picture

Call for Nominees:  Dorothy Schwieder Prize

The Midwestern History Association invites nominations for the Dorothy Schwieder Prize for the best article in Midwestern history published during the 2016 calendar year. The winner will be announced in spring 2017 at the annual meeting of the Midwestern History Association.

All articles on Midwestern history that were published in peer-reviewed journals dated 2016 are eligible for the prize. For this purpose, “the Midwest” includes the twelve states of the region as defined by the US Census: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Please submit articles for consideration to Dr. Lisa Ossian, chair of the Schwieder Prize Committee, at Nominations should include author, title, and the title, volume, and issue number of the journal, along with a pdf of the published article, or, in the case of digital-only publications, a url. Please do not send print submissions. 

Please submit materials for consideration no later than February 1, 2017.  The winner will be announced at the June 2017 meeting of the Midwestern History Association, in Grand Rapids, Michigan.