Call for Nominees: Jon Gjerde Prize--Midwestern history

Pamela Riney-Kehrberg's picture

Call for Nominees:  Jon Gjerde Prize

The Prize is named for the late Jon Gjerde, historian of immigration and ethnicity, who made significant contributions to the historical understanding of American history, especially the history of the people of the Midwest.  Born in Waterloo, Iowa, Gjerde earned his BA from the University of Northern Iowa and his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota. He held the Morrison Professorship in American History and American Citizenship and then served as a dean at the University of California-Berkeley. His most important publications include The Minds of the West (1999), From Peasants to Farmers (1989), and Catholicism and the Shaping of Nineteenth-Century America, with S. Deborah Kang (2012).

For purposes of the award, “the Midwest” includes the twelve states of the region as defined by the US Census: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.  Preference in judging will be given to books that go beyond state history to contribute to a larger knowledge of the region.  Publishers are invited to submit books for consideration, and members of the MHA are invited to submit nominations (please note author(s), title, publisher, ISBN if known, and publication date).  

Please submit materials for consideration no later than February 1, 2017.  The winner will be announced at the June 2017 meeting of the Midwestern History Association, in Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

Books nominated by publishers should be sent to all three prize committee members:

John E. Miller

1055 Circle Drive

Brookings, SD  57006


Jeffrey Helgeson

Department of History

Taylor Murphy Hall 202

Texas State University

601 University Drive

San Marcos, TX  78666-4684


Linda Clemmons

Department of History

Campus Box 4420

Schroeder 301

Illinois State University

Normal, IL  61790-4420