Call for Nominees: Alice Smith Prize--Midwestern public history

Pamela Riney-Kehrberg's picture

Call for Nominees:  Alice Smith Prize

The Midwestern History Association invites nominations for the Alice Smith Prize in Public History. Named after the director of research at the Wisconsin Historical Society from 1947 to 1965 who authored six books and numerous articles on the state's history, the prize honors a public history project completed in the previous calendar year (2016) that contributes to broader public reflection and appreciation of the region’s past. For purposes of the award, “the Midwest” includes the twelve states of the region as defined by the US Census: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Projects by individuals, groups, community organizations, businesses, or other organizations or work done in support of such projects may be nominated. Projects may include, but are not limited to the following areas: Media, Exhibits, Public Programs or Written Works (such as research reports, brochures, working papers, or historical fiction) that broaden public history understanding. Non-fiction books and journal articles are not eligible for this award.

Nominations must include name and contact information of project participants along with appropriate materials documenting the project. For consideration, please submit nomination and materials to Aaron Shapiro, Chair, Smith Prize Committee at or via mail at Department of History, UNC Charlotte, 9201 University City Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28223.

Please submit materials for consideration no later than February 1, 2017.  The winner will be announced at the June 2017 meeting of the Midwestern History Association, in Grand Rapids, Michigan.