Midwestern History Association Annual Meeting, October 21, 2016

Chandler Lighty's picture
The Midwestern History Association will be meeting during the Western History Association Meeting.  To find out more about the meeting, or if you have questions, please contact the association's officers listed on their webpage.  The meeting agenda follows:
Midwestern History Association
Annual Meeting
October 21, 2016, 3:00 PM
InterContinental Hotel
St. Paul, Minnesota
Western History Association Meeting
  1. Reports
  1. President
  2. President-Elect
  3. Treasurer
  4. Secretary/Webmaster
  5. Social Media Director
  6. Communications Director
  7. Ex-officio members
  8. MHA podcast
  9. Editor, Studies in Midwestern History
  1. Old Business
  1. ____
  2. ____
  1. Announcement of Election Results and New Officers and Board Members
  2. New Business
  1. Midwestern history conference
  1. Grand Rapids, Michigan, June 7, 2016
  2. Awarding of 2016 Gjerde Prize (Prize Committee Chair: Annette Atkins)
  3. Awarding of 2016 Schwieder Prize (Prize Committee Chair: Lisa Ossian)
  4. Awarding of 2016 Turner Prize (Prize Committee Chair: Pamela Riney-Kehrberg)
  5. Awarding of 2016 Alice Smith Prize (Prize Committee Chair: Aaron Shapiro)
  6. Awarding of 2015 Hamlin Garland Prize (Prize Committee Chair: Kristin Bloomberg)
  7. Awarding of 2016 Hamlin Garland Prize (Prize Committee Chair: David Grabitske)  
  8. Appointment of prize committees for 2016 publications
  9. Establishing a dues structure for MHA
  10. Form and sponsorship of future MHA meetings
  1. MHA Meeting in 2017


Posted by request of Jon Lauck

Dear H-Midwest – I look forward to seeing many of you later this week in St. Paul (3:00 on Friday at the InterContinental Hotel) for the meeting of the Midwestern History Association. You might also be interested in the complete list of MHA prize winners (the prizes will be presented in St. Paul). See below for full list. To take note of the MHA's work so far, I’ve also written an article entitled “The Origins and Progress of the Midwestern History Association, 2013-16” in Studies in Midwestern History (link here: https://static1.squarespace.com/static/54988875e4b0e6ee185ace18/t/5804e6...) and I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. Finally, the agenda for our meeting on Friday is in the previous post. See you soon! Jon Lauck

Jon Gjerde Prize for Best Book on Midwestern History: Jason Weems for Barnstorming the Prairies: How Aerial Vision Shaped the Midwest (University of Minnesota Press);
Frederick Jackson Turner Prize for a Lifetime of Service to Midwestern History: James Madison of Indiana University;

Dorothy Schwieder Prize for Best Article on Midwestern History: Brie Swenson Arnold for “An Opportunity to Challenge the ‘Color Line’: Gender, Race, Ethnicity, and Women's Labor Activism in Late Nineteenth-Century Cedar Rapids, Iowa,” Annals of Iowa 74 (2015), 101-141.

Hamlin Garland Prize for Popular History Writing about the Midwest (2015): James E. Sherow and John R. Charlton for Railroad Empire Across the Heartland: Rephotographing Alexander Gardner’s Westward Journal (University of New Mexico Press);

Hamlin Garland Prize for Popular History Writing about the Midwest (2016): Jeffrey T. Manuel for Taconite Dreams: The Struggle to Sustain Mining on Minnesota’s Iron Range, 1915-2000 (University of Minnesota Press);

Alice Smith Prize for Midwestern Public History: Elgin History Museum in Elgin, Illinois for its film/traveling exhibit project entitled “Two Boxcars, Three Blocks, One City: A Story of Elgin’s African-American Heritage.”