Society of Indiana Archivists 2016 Fall workshop and scholarship

Chandler Lighty's picture

It's that time of year again!  This year's workshop will be "Past History, Digital Future: Indiana DPLA Metadata," on Friday, October 28, 2016 from 9am-4:30pm.  Please visit the event page for information on the SIA Fall Workshop and apply for the scholarship, which will cover registration costs and $150 for related expenses.


Angela White, Ph.D.
Philanthropic Studies Archivist
IUPUI University Library
755 W. Michigan St., Room 0117C
Indianapolis, IN 46202

2016 John Newman Professional Development Scholarship

The Society of Indiana Archivists will award the John Newman Professional Development Scholarship to attend the 2016 Society of Indiana Archivists Fall Workshop on Friday, October 28, at Hodge Hall at Indiana University (Bloomington). The scholarship waives the cost of the workshop and offers a check for $150 to help cover hotel and travel expenses.

Workshop: “Past History, Digital Future: Indiana DPLA Metadata”

This workshop is for those interested in providing greater access to their unique, locally hosted digital archival collections through inclusion in the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) and/or Indiana Memory. The presenters will guide participants in structuring existing metadata to conform to DPLA and Indiana Memory standards and the training will be geared towards the needs of archival institutions. This session will also be tailored to the content management systems in use by attendees, so whether you use CONTENTdm, PastPerfect, or another content management system, facilitators will provide tools to help you unveil your archives to the world.

To Apply:  Send a statement of 200-300 words about why the workshop will help you gain knowledge and experience useful in your volunteering efforts or career, along with your name, institution where you work/volunteer, and contact information.

Application Deadline:  Friday, October 14, 2016

Please submit the information stated above via email to the committee members:

Jennifer Noffze

Angela White

Neal A. Harmeyer

Please direct any questions to Jennifer Noffze

The award recipient will be announced through the SIA listserv prior to the meeting.

Posted in: