Indiana Historical Society Annual Awards

Chandler Lighty Blog Post
Indiana Historical Society Seeks Nominations for Annual Awards

Each year, the Indiana Historical Society recognizes outstanding individuals whose efforts have enriched the lives of others by conveying awareness and appreciation of Indiana's history on local, regional and statewide levels. We are accepting nominations for the following awards:

  • Caleb Mills Indiana History Teacher of the Year Award
  • Dorothy Riker Hoosier Historian Award
  • Eli Lilly Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Hubert Hawkins History Award
  • Willard C. Heiss Family History/Genealogy Award
  • Outstanding Historical Organization Award
  • Indiana History Outstanding Organization Event or Project Award
  • Outstanding Bicentennial Collaborative Project Award

To learn more about the IHS Awards and to download a nomination form, please visit or call (317) 232-1888. Nominations must be postmarked no later than Aug. 8, 2016. Award winners will be honored at the annual Founders Day Dinner on Monday, Dec. 5.