MEM Dissertation Prize

Alison Vacca's picture

The Board of Directors of Middle East Medievalists (MEM) is pleased to announce its inaugural prize for best dissertation on the medieval Middle East (500-1500 CE).

In an effort to recognize excellent doctoral research in the field, MEM will award its first biennial prize at the annual meeting of the Middle East Studies Association in San Antonio, Texas, in November, 2018. Dissertations filed and defended between June 30, 2016, and June 30, 2018, will be eligible for this year’s prize.

Applicants must be current members in good standing of Middle East Medievalists to be considered. To join MEM or renew your membership please go to:

Deadline for electronic submissions is August 1, 2018.

For submission details, please contact:

Dr. Kristina Richardson

Associate Professor of History

Queens College, City University of New York

65-30 Kissena Blvd.
Queens, NY 11367

About MEM: Middle East Medievalists is an international professional non-profit association of scholars interested in the study of the Islamic lands of the Middle East during the medieval period (defined roughly as 500-1500 C.E.). We aim to foster communication among individuals and organizations with an interest in the study of the medieval Middle East, and publish an open-access journal: Al-ʿUsur al-WustaThe Journal of Middle East Medievalists. Please see: