Call for Papers -- Shii Studies Review (SSR), Volume One, Issue Two, with a monographic section devoted to al-Sharīf al-Murtaḍā (d. 436/1044)

Sabine Schmidtke's picture

A refereed journal with an international editorial and advisory board, the Shii Studies Review provides a scholarly forum for researchers specializing in all fields of Shii studies. Issued twice a year, the journal publishes peer-reviewed original studies, critical editions of classical and pre-modern texts, and book reviews on Shii law, ḥadīth, Qurʾānic exegesis, philosophy, kalām, ritual and practices, classical and contemporary literature, and other aspects of the history of Shiism. It is dedicated to the study of Imami, Ismaili, Zaydi, and other other trends in Shii thought throughout history. Taking an expansive view of the richly variegated Shii traditions in both thought and practice and their cultural and social contexts, the Shii Studies Review makes a distinctive contribution to current scholarship on Shiism and its integration into the broader field of Islamic studies. The Shii Studies Review welcomes previously unpublished manuscripts and invites submissions for its second issue, to be published in November 2017. The issue will contain a monographic section devoted to the eminent Imāmī theologian al-Sharīf al-Murtaḍā (b. 355/965, d. 436/1044). Deadline for submission: February 15, 2017.


Editorial Board:

Executive Editors: Hassan Ansari and Sabine Schmidtke

Associate Editors: Bella Tendler-Krieger and Sean Anthony

Book Review Editor: Aun Hasan Ali and Najam Haider


Editorial Office:

Institute for Advanced Study, The School of Historical Studies / Near Eastern and Islamic Studies,


Advisory Board:

Mohammad Ali Amir-Moezzi, EPHE (Paris)

Meir Bar-Asher, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Rainer Brunner, CNRS (Paris)

Michael Cook, Princeton University

Farhad Daftary, The Institute of Ismaili Studies

Daniel De Smet, CNRS (Paris)

Robert Gleave, University of Exeter

Christian Jambet, EPHE (Paris)

Wadad Kadi, University of Chicago

Etan Kohlberg, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Wilferd Madelung, Oxford University

Roy Mottahedeh, Harvard University

Andrew Newman, The University of Edinburgh

Devin Stewart, Emory University

Paul Walker, The University of Chicago

Robert Wisnovsky, McGill University

Aron Zysow, Boston