CFP: GSA-Panel: At the Nexus of Queer, Trans, and Performance Studies, Houston (15.02.2022)

Meagan Tripp's picture

Call for Papers

Submission Deadline: Feb 15, 2022

GSA 2022 (Sept 15-18, 2022 in Houston, TX)


At the Nexus of Queer, Trans, and Performance Studies


As inherently interdisciplinary fields that foreground embodied experience and challenge traditional epistemologies, Queer, Trans, and Performance Studies share many nodes of connection as well as the potential to favorably disrupt the field of German Studies. By exploring ways in which Queer and/or Trans bodies engage in or are represented within artistic performances, rituals, and cultural practices of everyday life, this panel asks how performances—broadly defined—cite, challenge, and co-construct understandings of gender and sexuality.


The GSA’s Queer and Trans Studies Network seeks paper proposals for the 2022 GSA (September 15-18, 2022 in Houston, TX) that explore contemporary and/or historical intersections of Queer, Trans, and Performance Studies within German Studies scholarship. Especially welcome are papers that interrogate performance and performativity in contexts beyond traditionally dominant cis, white gay and lesbian identities.


Possible directions include but are not limited to:

  • performance art that centers queer and/or trans experience
  • queer and/or trans dance and theater performances, practices, and archives
  • literary, filmic, or other artistic representations of queer and/or trans performance
  • protest and activism as performance within queer and/or trans communities
  • rituals within LGBTQIA2S+ communities
  • the notion of performativity within queer and/or trans contexts


Please submit ca. 300-word abstracts and brief bios to Carrie Smith ( and Meagan Tripp ( by February 15, 2022. 


The GSA Queer and Trans Studies Network is collectively organized by Kyle Frackman (University of British Columbia), Ervin Malakaj (University of British Columbia), Laurie Marhoefer (University of Washington), Simone Pfleger (University of Alberta), Carrie Smith (University of Alberta), and Faye Stewart (University of North Carolina Greensboro).