ANK: Women in German 2021 - Best Article Prize (15.4.2021)

Berna Gueneli's picture

Dear colleagues,

we are inviting nominations for WiG's annual Best Article Prize! If you would like to nominate a journal article or a book chapter that was (or will be) published in 2020, please see the details below! Self-nominations are welcome! 

Call for Submissions

Women in German Best Article Prize

Women in German invites nominations for the Best Article Prize. The purpose of this award is to recognize excellent research and scholarship in the field of feminist German studies. The prize is conferred annually and was awarded for the first time in 2004. The author(s) of the article selected will receive a $500 cash award and a certificate of recognition.  


We are currently inviting nominations, including self-nominations, for articles published in a journal issue or collection with a publication date in the year 2020. The work must present original new research that makes a significant contribution to the field of feminist German studies; collaborative publications are also accepted. The author(s) must have an up-to-date WiG membership at the time of submission. Articles may be written in either German or English.


Please submit an electronic version of the article to the Committee Chair (Berna Gueneli) Questions may be addressed to the Committee Chair.


April 15, 2021

Notification of Winner(s) and Announcement of Award

The winner(s) will be notified prior to the 2021 WiG Conference. The award will be formally announced and presented at the 46th annual WiG conference in Portland, Oregon (Nov. 4–7, 2021).


Service in Best Article Prize Selection Committee

Winner(s) will be asked to serve on the Best Article Prize selection committee for the following three years, acting as chair for the final year.

More Information

For more information, please also visit the “awards page” and the “previous winners” page on the WiG website:



Redaktion: Constanze Baum – Lukas Büsse – Mark-Georg Dehrmann – Nils Gelker – Markus Malo – Alexander Nebrig – Johannes Schmidt

Diese Ankündigung wurde von H-GERMANISTIK [Mark-Georg Dehrmann] betreut –