KONF: Online Symposium Siddhartha turns100 Celebrating 100 years of Hermann Hesse's Novel Siddhartha (14.12.2022)

Shrikant Arun Pathak's picture

Department of German, University of Mumbai
in collaboration with
Goethe Society of India,
Goethe Institute, Max Mueller Bhavan, Mumbai &
Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany, Mumbai

PROGRAMME
Wednesday, 14th December, 2022

Invitation and Programme of International Online Symposium Siddhartha turns100 Celebrating 100 years of Hermann Hesse's Novel Siddhartha on 14.12.2022

 

 

 

Join Zoom Meeting
Zoom Link
Meeting ID: 893 8256 0974
Passcode: 760289
 

 

12:00 noon – 12:30 p.m. IST

7:30 8:00 Uhr MEZ

6:30 7:00 hrs GMT

Inaugural Session 

Meher Bhoot

Head, Department of German, 

University of Mumbai

 

Shaswati Mazumdar

President, Goethe Society of India

 

Achim Fabig 

Hon’ble Consul General, 

Consulate of the Federal Republic 

of Germany in Mumbai

 

Björn Ketels 

Director, Goethe Institut, Mumbai

Welcome Address




 

Opening Remarks

 

Inaugural Address

12:30 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. IST

8:00 – 08:30 Uhr MEZ

7:00 – 7:30 hrs GMT

Moderation: Swati Acharya

Keynote Address

Karl-Josef Kuschel 

President, International Hermann Hesse Society, Germany

„Siddhartha“

Hermann Hesses interreligiöse Dichtung in indischem Gewand (German)

1:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. IST

8:30 – 9:00 Uhr MEZ

7:30 – 8:00 hrs GMT

Moderation: Vibha Surana

Martin Kämpchen

Santiniketan, India

Hermann Hesse’s Novel Siddhartha. Its Roots in Indian Philosophy (English)

Break: 1:30 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. IST/ 9:00 – 9:45 Uhr MEZ / 8:00 – 8:45 hrs GMT

2:15 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. IST

9:45 – 10:45 Uhr MEZ

8:45 – 9:45 hrs GMT

Moderation: Babu Thaliath

Special Lecture

Helga Esselborn-Krumbiegel

University of Köln

Begegnung der Kulturen. Hermann Hesse’s Roman Siddhartha (German)

3:15 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. IST

10:45 – 11:15 Uhr MEZ

9:45 – 10:15 hrs GMT

Moderation: Milind Brahme

Nirupama Joshi

School of Social Sciences and Languages, VIT Chennai

Siddhartha: The essence of Vedanta (English)

3:45 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. IST

11:15 – 11:45 Uhr MEZ

10:15 – 10:45 hrs GMT

Park Sool

Department of Philosophy, 

University of Hildesheim

Siddhartha and its impact in Korea: Necessary Orientalism or Intercultural Mediation? (English)

Break: 4:15 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. IST / 11:45 – 12:00 Uhr MEZ /10:45 – 11:00 hrs GMT

4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. IST

12:00 – 12:30 Uhr MEZ

11:00 – 11:30 hrs GMT

Moderation: Rajendra Dengle and 

                     Deepa Gahlot

Satish Yatin

Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT Madras

The Individual and the Masses: Reading Herman Hesse’s Siddhartha through the Prism of Discontent (English)

5:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. IST

12:30 – 13:00 Uhr MEZ

11:30 – 12:00 hrs GMT

Shrikant Arun Pathak

Department of German, 

University of Mumbai

Contemporary Marathi ‘Versions’ of Hermann Hesse’s Siddhartha (English) 

5:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. IST

13:00 – 13:30 Uhr MEZ

12:00 – 12:30 hrs GMT

Girissha Tilak

Department of German,

University of Mumbai

Siddhartha’s Portrayal in Book and Film (English) 

6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. IST

13:30 – 14:30 Uhr MEZ

12:30 – 13:30 hrs GMT

Panel Discussion: Siddhartha now and then (English)

Moderation: Jyoti Sabharwal

Anil Bhatti (Professor Emeritus, JNU, New Delhi)

Annakutty Findeis (Professor Emeritus, University of Mumbai)

Ingo Cornils (University of Leeds, UK)

Rosy Singh (JNU, New Delhi)

Swati Acharya (SPPU, Pune)

Nishant K. Narayanan (EFLU, Hyderabad)

Shruti Jain  (O P Jindal Global University, Sonipat)

 

7:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. IST

14:30 – 15:00 Uhr MEZ

13:30 – 14:00 hrs GMT

Moderation: Madhu Sahni

Valedictory Address

Vridhagiri Ganeshan

Professor Emeritus, EFLU, Hyderabad

#Sid4Youth (English)

7:30 p.m. – 7:45 p.m. IST

15:00 – 15:15 Uhr MEZ

14:00 – 14:15 hrs GMT

Concluding Remarks

B. Subramanian

Retired Professor of German Studies, 

IIT Mandi

 
 

Vote of Thanks

Shrikant Arun Pathak