Roundtable: Special Issue on “Archives and Popular Culture,” Archives and Records

Rüstem Ertuğ Altınay's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

Type: 
Event
Date: 
March 10, 2021
Subject Fields: 
Archival Science, Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Research and Methodology, Popular Culture Studies, Library and Information Science

The latest issue of Archives and Records, guest edited by Rüstem Ertuğ Altınay and Olivera Jokić, explores how the changing notions of the popular affect how we imagine and build archives, and the opportunities and challenges popular culture materials present for archivists, institutions, and researchers. The four essays by practitioners and scholars study the strategies and practices of archiving popular culture in the early twenty-first century and suggest some ways in which archival work can shape popular culture. The authors take up theoretical concerns in light of the practical questions about the creation and interpretation of the archives of popular culture, from the ephemerality of records and storage protocols to the material and symbolic value of collections and their significance in the development of new philosophies and practices of teaching with the archive.

 

At the roundtable, the authors and the editors will discuss their essays and their broader work in relation to archives and popular culture.

 

Time: Wednesday, March 10, at 11am EST (11am New York; 16:00 London; 17:00 Central European Time, 19:00 Istanbul)

Please click the link below to join the webinar:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87024847335

Webinar ID: 870 2484 7335

Host: Kadir Has University

 

Speakers:

Sarah-Joy Maddeaux on behalf of Archives and Records, special issue editors Rüstem Ertuğ Altınay and Olivera Jokić, and the authors Katie Lanning, Saygun Gökarıksel, Christine A. Lutz, Tara Maharjan, Stephanie Crawford, Anne Peirson-Smith, and Ben Peirson-Smith