Webinar Series – From Konkan to Coromandel: Deccan Heritage, Art and Culture – Spring 2022

Ashley Dimmig's picture
Submitted by Vivek Gupta:
 
We are pleased to launch our fourth series of From Konkan to Coromandel: Deccan Heritage, Art and Culture. You can sign up here: https://www.deccanheritagefoundation.uk/events/webinars/registration
 
To widen our reach to audiences in India the Deccan Heritage Foundation and the Centre of Islamic Studies, Cambridge, have joined forces with the Bangalore International Centre. Our organizing team has also been fortunate to be joined by our eminent colleague and curator, Dr Marika Sardar.
 
From Konkan to Coromandel: Deccan Heritage, Art and Culture, Spring 2022
 

Cloth that Changed the World: Histories and Contemporaneity of Kalamkari Making, Sarah Fee (Royal Ontario Museum) and Rajarshi Sengupta (IIT Kanpur) on April 8th at 2 PM London (9 AM New York, 6:30 PM Mumbai)

The City of Haidar as a Shiʿi Paradise: Divine Sovereignty, Built Space, and Shiʿi Materiality in Qutb Shahi Hyderabad, Karen Ruffle (University of Toronto) on April 29th at 2 PM London (9 AM New York, 6:30 PM Mumbai)

Eclipsed by the Moon: Mahlaqa Bai and Khushhal Khan Anup in Nizami Hyderabad, Katherine Butler Schofield (King's College, London) on May 6th at 1 PM London (8 AM New York, 5:30 PM Mumbai)

The Vīraśaivas / Liṅgāyats of 12th century Karnataka: Conflict, Transformation, and the Genesis of a New Creed, Tiziana Lorenzetti (International Institute of South Asian Studies, Rome) on May 20th, at 1 PM London (8 AM New York, 5:30 PM Mumbai)

Reflections of Jaina and Vīraśaiva Interactions in the Art and Architecture of Karnataka, Julia AB Hegewald (University of Bonn) on June 3rd at 1 PM London (8 AM New York, 5:30 PM Mumbai)

A Cosmopolitan yet Local Tradition: Glazed Tiles in the Deccani Sultanates, Arthur Millner (Art Consultant) on June 17th at 1 PM London (8 AM New York, 5:30 PM Mumbai)