Toyin Falola AGSS Africa Book Award

Olusegun Olopade's picture
Subject Fields: 
African History / Studies

Toyin Falola AGSS Africa Book Award 

The Toyin Falola ATWS Africa Book Award, established in 2005 in honor of Toyin Falola, one of Africa's outstanding historians and intellectuals, was initially given in 2006 for the best book on Africa published in 2005-2006. The first award was presented at the Twenty-Fourth Annual Meeting of ATWS (November 2-4, 2006) at Winston-Salem State University. The 2006 winner was Adam Ashforth, Visiting Associate Professor of Social Sciences at Princeton University, for his excellent work, "Witchcraft, Violence, and Democracy in South Africa," published by the University of Chicago Press in 2005. Professor Falola generously funds the award. 


The Toyin Falola Africa Book Award is named in honor of Toyin Falola, one of Africa's outstanding historians and intellectuals. The award is given for the best book on Africa published in 2021-2022. Book submissions must be issued from January 1, 2021, through August 15, 2022. The deadline for the submission of entries is August 15, 2022. The award will not automatically be given each year, but only when the committee decides to submit a book of considerable merit. AGSS members are encouraged to enter their publications into the competition. The recipient will receive a plaque, citation, and a $500 cash award. 

Qualifications are: 

  1. Only monographs and similar original studies will be considered. Please do not submit anthologies or edited works. 
  2. An individual who wishes to be considered must send a letter of application to the committee chair, Dr. José Arimatéia da Cruz   
  3. Publishers can nominate an author's book if the above rules are observed. 
  4. An individual seeking the award is responsible for sending a copy of their book to each committee member. 
  5. Please send one copy of the nominated book to each of the individuals listed below: 

Dr. Jose de Arimateia da Cruz, Committee Chair 

Armstrong Campus         

11935 Abercorn Street 

Dept. of Political Science & International Studies 

Savannah, GA 31419 


Dr. Ishmael I. Munene 

2840 N Elk Run St. 

Flagstaff, AZ 86004 


Col. James T. Gire, Ph.D. 

403 Carroll Hall
Virginia Military Institute
Lexington, VA 24450 


Rubric for Decision

  1. Originality in terms of the research area and interpretation 
  2. Contribute to the intellectual debates within the subject area in which they are framed, and  
  3. Present well-substantiated arguments.