Postcolonial Uses for the Primary Sources of British Imperial Merchant Seafarers in the 19th & 20th Centuries

Meaghan Walker's picture
Type: 
Workshop
Date: 
March 8, 2022
Location: 
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Subject Fields: 
Black History / Studies, British History / Studies, Maritime History / Studies, Southeast Asian History / Studies, Colonial and Post-Colonial History / Studies

Postcolonial Uses for the Primary Sources of British Imperial Merchant Seafarers in the 19th & 20th Centuries is a roundtable discussion with researchers of colonized seafarers hosted on Webex March 8, 2022, starting at 8:30 MST // 10:30 EST // 15:30 GMT // 21:00 IST (hosted in Newfoundland at 12:00 NST).

How might researchers better explore primary sources to write post-colonial maritime histories? This roundtable brings together scholars of British-Asiatic and British-African merchant seafarers to discuss the challenges.

March 8 Speakers

  • Looking for Lascars in the Archive: Non-European Seamen in Ships’ Official Logbooks, Naina Manjrekar, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai.

  • ‘Native’ Seafarers, Racial Management, and the Problem of Agency, Ravi Ahuja, Centre for Modern Indian Studies, Göttingen University.

  • Finding Colonized Seafarers (and others) in Unlikely Places: What to Do When ‘There are no sources’, Laura Tabili, Department of History, University of Arizona.

This event is scheduled to last 90 minutes.

Visit our website, which hosts examples of British-Indian Crew Agreements. Tickets are also available now at Eventbrite.

Contact Info: 

Dr. Meaghan Walker

Ewart Pratt Post-Doctoral Fellow

Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, NL

Contact Email: