NASSH Sport History Graduate Essay Contest Announced; Deadline January 26, 2018

Jan Todd's picture
November 26, 2017
Texas, United States
Subject Fields: 
African American History / Studies, American History / Studies, Canadian History / Studies, History of Science, Medicine, and Technology

2018 NASSH Graduate Essay Prize Competition

Submission Deadline—Friday, January 26, 2018


NASSH 2018 Conference Dates: May 25-28, 2018

Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

More Info at:


The North American Society for Sport History announces its thirty-fourth annual NASSH Graduate Essay Prize. The NASSH Prize is awarded annually to the graduate student whose historical essay is judged by the committee to be of the highest quality. The award winner will present his or her paper in a special session at the 2018 NASSH convention in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and will also receive:

1) Round-trip travel, including economy airfare, from a site in North America to the 2018 NASSH Conference in Winnipeg; 

2) Hotel accommodations and meals at the convention;

3) Free convention registration. 

4) The winning essay will also be forwarded to the Journal of Sport History for review and possible publication.


Eligibility & Rules:  

1) Any student doing graduate work in a recognized university during the 2017-18 academic year (including masters and doctoral candidates) or, any new Ph.D. or Master’s student who is within six months of having received his or her graduate degree is eligible. 

2) Candidates are to submit a 4,000-6,000 word essay, with a cover sheet detailing the author’s name, current email address, institution, advisor’s name, degree program, and (if relevant) graduation date.  Page two of your manuscript should include only the paper’s title, and a short abstract (+/- 150 words).  (Papers submitted to the committee for review will begin with this second page.  Your name and institution must not appear on page two or any other subsequent pages in the manuscript.)  

3) Candidates may submit only one paper to the competition per year.

3. The paper must be your own work; co-authored publications are not permitted.  The research and writing are to be undertaken by the student submitting the essay.

4) Previous winners are ineligible.

5) A student who has previously entered this contest (and did not win) may not submit a paper on the same or closely related subject in another year.

6) Papers must be submitted in English, and must follow the basic style guidelines of the Journal of Sport History (based on Chicago Manual of Style) with the exception that footnotes—not endnotes—should be used for citations.  For more information on JSH style go to:

7) Essays of 6,000 words are considered to be 24 pages long with approximately 250 words on each page of text.  Please use one-inch margins, 12-point Times New Roman font, and double space your main text. Footnotes (single-spaced) are included as part of the essay’s total word count.  Please note: essays exceeding 6,500 words or failing to follow other requirements—such as lacking an abstract—will not be considered for the award. 

8) By submitting a paper to the competition, the writer agrees that if he/she wins, that they shall attend the conference and present their paper.

9) Papers submitted to the NASSH Graduate Essay Competition may also be submitted to the NASSH Program Committee for possible inclusion as a regular conference paper at NASSH 2018.

10) The 2018 Graduate Essay Committee:  Jan Todd, chair (non-voting); Jason Shurley, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater; Ian Ritchie, Brock University, and Maria Veri, San Francisco State University.


How to Submit:

To submit your essay for consideration send an email to with the subject line: “Nassh Graduate Essay Submission.”  Please attach your essay in WORD and in the body of the email please repeat the contact information on your title page.  

An electronic return message will acknowledge that this mailbox has received your manuscript. If you do not receive an auto-reply, please also send the manuscript to  If you have questions, please email me (Jan Todd) at either address.

The deadline for submissions is midnight, January 26, 2018, in your time zone. The date stamp on your email will be proof of timeliness.


Previous Winners of The NASSH Graduate Essay Prize

1985 Catriona Beaton Parratt, University of Windsor

1986 Jan Todd, University of Texas at Austin

1987 James Coates, University of Maryland

1988 Stephen Wenn, University of Western Ontario

1989 Mark Dyreson, University of Arizona

1990 Barbara S. Pinto, University of Western Ontario

1991 Jack Davis, Brandeis University

1992 Dennis Gildea, Penn State University

1993 Robert Rinehart, University of Illinois-Urbana

1994 Patrick Trimble, Penn State University

1995 R. Gregg Bennett, Auburn University

1996 Stacy Lorenz, University of Alberta

1997 Dan Mason, University of Alberta

1998 Susan L. Forbes, University of Western Ontario

1999 Brad Austin, Ohio State University

2000 (Tie) Greg Gillespie, University of Western Ontario & Annmarie Jutel, University of Otago

2001 Matthew Andrews, UNC-Chapel Hill

2002 Jennifer Guiliano, Miami University of Ohio

2003 Kenneth Cohen, University of Delaware

2004 Jaime Schultz, University of Iowa

2005 David Mizener, York University

2006 Carly Adams, University of Western Ontario

2007 Matthew P. Llewellyn, Penn State University

2008 David Lunt, Penn State University

2009 Travis Vogan, Indiana University

2010 John Gleaves, Penn State University

2011 Terry Gitersos, University of Western Ontario

              2012 Dominic G. Morais, University of Texas at Austin

2013 Bieke Gils, University of British Columbia

 2014 Nathan Titman, University of Iowa

 2015 Ashley Brown, George Washington University

 2016 Cat Arial, University of Miami

 2017 Ben Pollack, University of Texas at Austin

Contact Info: 

Jan Todd, Ph.D.

NASSH President


The University of Texas at Austin 

Contact Email: