André Corvisier Prize 2018 for PhD theses on Military History

Davide Borsani's picture
January 31, 2018
Subject Fields: 
Ancient History, Contemporary History, Early Modern History and Period Studies, Military History, World History / Studies

1. The International Commission of Military History ( awards the “André Corvisier Prize for PhD theses on Military History”, named after the distinguished French scholar who was for ten years President of ICMH and then President of Honour.

2. The PhD title can be obtained not necessarily in Military History, but also in other disciplines. However, the thesis must deal with Military History in the broadest sense: the history of warfare, of military campaigns, of the armed forces, of military thinking, diplomatic aspects of conflicts, causes and effects of wars, defence economics, civil-military relations, military technology, military leadership, and demographics of military forces.

3. For the 2018 edition, the prize will be awarded for a PhD thesis discussed and approved in 2017 in a recognized University.

4. The amount of the Prize is fixed at € 3.000, plus a maximum of € 1.500 to cover the recipient’s expenses for participation at the award ceremony during the XLIV ICMH Congress in Jerusalem.

5. Participants must send a scanned certificate of the PhD title, a curriculum vitae, and a PdF copy of their thesis to the Secretary General of ICMH, Lt. Col. Dr. Kris Quanten ( within the 31st of January 2018

6. The thesis may be in any language; however, a translation in any of the ICMH official languages (English, French, German, Italian and Spanish) is required if the language employed is different. This applies also to the scanned certification of the PhD title and to the curriculum vitae.

7. The Prize will be awarded by a Jury of seven persons, chaired by the President of ICMH and including the members of the ICMH Executive Board and the President and the Secretary of the ICMH Educational Committee. With the approval of the President of ICMH, members of the Jury unable to participate may designate a substitute. The Jury may decide not to award the Prize if no thesis is considered worthy or may decide to award it ex aequo to two Doctors, dividing the amount of money. The Jury’s decisions are taken by simple majority.

8. The winner will be required to write an article drawn from his thesis to be published on the International Journal of Military History and Historiography, after peer review.

9. Requests for any further information should be addressed to Dr. Quanten.

Contact Info: 

For the Prize, contact the Secretary General of the International Commission of Military History (, Lt. Col. Dr. Kris Quanten (

For this announcement, contact the Academic Assistant to the President of the International Commission of Military History, Dr. Davide Borsani (

Contact Email: