7th Annual Texas A&M History Graduate Conference

Brooke Linsenbardt Announcement
Texas, United States
Subject Fields
African American History / Studies, American History / Studies, European History / Studies, Latin American and Caribbean History / Studies, Military History

7th Annual
Texas A&M History Conference

Community. Culture. Conflict.

April 1-2, 2016

Call for Papers

The Seventh Annual Texas A&M History Conference, sponsored by the Sigma Rho Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta and the Texas A&M History Graduate Student Organization, will take place on the Texas A&M University campus on Friday, April 1 and Saturday, April 2, 2016. This two-day conference will feature panels for graduate and undergraduate students to present their research to an audience of peers and subject experts.

The theme for this year’s conference is “Community, Culture, Conflict” and we welcome proposals from all areas of the humanities and social sciences as well as all subfields of history. Presenters need not be members of Phi Alpha Theta to participate. We encourage papers and presentations that apply interdisciplinary approaches to the study of history, including digital humanities, visual art, film, etc.

Undergraduate and graduate students who are interested in presenting are asked to submit a 250 word (maximum) abstract and curriculum vitae by Tuesday, December 15, 2015. Notification of acceptance will occur by January 15, 2015 and accepted applicants will have until March 1, 2016 to submit completed papers (not to exceed ten pages). Any Ph.D. students interested in serving as commentators for undergraduate panels in their respective fields should submit a one-page CV by January 15, 2016. All submissions and correspondence should be submitted to tamuhistoryconference@gmail.com.

A panel of judges will select the best overall Ph.D., M.A., and undergraduate papers to receive awards in recognition of excellence. For more conference details, please visit http://history.tamu.edu

Contact Information

Brooke Linsenbardt, Hillary Anderson, Laura Oviedo, Robin Roe, Ben Williams

Contact Email