W.K. Hancock Prize

Karen Downing's picture
January 31, 2016
Subject Fields: 
Australian and New Zealand History / Studies

The biennial W.K. Hancock Prize recognises and encourages an Australian scholar who has recently published a first scholarly book in any field of history.

The W.K. Hancock Prize was instituted in 1987 by the Australian Historical Association, to honour the contribution to the study and writing of history in Australia by Sir Keith Hancock. Since his death in 1988, it has served to commemorate his life and achievements.

The next W.K. Hancock prize will be made in July 2016 for a work published in 2014 or 2015.

Applications are due by 31 January 2016.
An intention to submit is requested by 15 January 2015.

Contact Info: 

Dr Karen Downing, Executive Officer

Contact Email: