CONF Programme announcement | Graphic memory (online conference) 20 August 2021

Vaibhav Singh's picture
Type: 
Conference
Date: 
August 20, 2021
Location: 
United Kingdom
Subject Fields: 
Anthropology, Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Cultural History / Studies, Digital Humanities, Fine Arts

Graphic memory: the many lives of letters, from handwriting to digital fonts & back 

• • •

10:00–14:00 EDT | 07:00–11:00 PDT | 19:30–23:30 IST

Join us online for a wide-ranging set of talks in our conference ‘Graphic memory: the many lives of letters from handwriting to digital fonts & back’.

 

PROGRAMME (UK time)

–––––––––––––––––––––––––

3:00–3:20 pm
ANDREA WUNDERLICH (Calligrapher, designer, lettering artist)
Finding inspiration in medieval manuscripts

3:30–3:50 pm
JULIA VANCE (Sculptor, calligrapher, lettercutter)
Draw the line

4:00–4:20 pm
HARALD GEISLER (Typographer, typeface designer)
The margins of reading and writing: handwriting of the future

4:30–4:50 pm
UELI KAUFMANN (University of Bern, Switzerland)
Exchanges between modernist typography and Swiss school handwriting

 

(30-min keynotes with 10-min Q&A)

5:00–5:30 pm
HUNTER DUKES (Tampere University, Finland)
Scratching out the self: autography through the ages

5:40–6:10 pm
JILL GAGE (Newberry Library, Chicago)
The pen’s triumph: the tenacity of handwriting in the age of print

6:20–6:50 pm
TIMOTHY INGOLD (University of Aberdeen)
On opening the book of surfaces


• • • 

Date of online conference: 20 August 2021 • 3:00–7:00 pm (UK)
10:00–14:00 EDT | 07:00–11:00 PDT | 19:30–23:30 IST

Please register here to attend: https://www.contextualternate.com/event03#e03-registration

• • • 

Conference organiser: Vaibhav Singh 
Email enquiries: conference@contextual-alternate.com