Call for New Deal Book Award Nominations

Kurt Feichtmeir's picture
Call for Publications
July 20, 2021 to November 15, 2021
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Economic History / Studies, Historic Preservation, Political History / Studies, Social History / Studies

The Living New Deal invites submissions for the first annual New Deal Book Award.

The Living New Deal, a nonprofit in Berkeley, California, has established an annual New Deal Book Award to recognize and encourage non-fiction works about U.S. history in the New Deal era (1933-1942).

To be eligible, books for the 2021 New Deal Book Award must have a publication date of 2021 and be nomnated by a publisher or author colleague.  The New Deal Book Award and finalists will be chosen by a distinguished review committee.

The deadline for submissions is November 15, 2021.  The winner will be announced in Spring 2022 and receive a cash prize of $1,000, to be awarded during the Roosevelt Reading Festival at the FDR Presidential Library and Museum at Hyde Park, NY in Summer 2022, to which the five finalists will be invited.

Submission guidelines and a brief nomination form can be found at the Living New Deal website

The Living New Deal began in 2007 as a project of the Geography department at the University of California, Berkeley, mapping the locations of New Deal projects – artworks, libraries, post offices, schools, commnity centers, airports, roads, bridges, parks, and more.  In addition to resources about New Deal policis, profiles and achievements, the website features an interactive map and descriptions of more than 17,000 New Deal sites crowdsourced by volunteers who submit their discoveries using the Living New Deal website and a mobile phone app.  The webiste drew more than a million visits this last year.

For additional information, contact: Kurt Feichtmeir, Director of Development, The Living New Deal (707) 494-8001

Contact Info: 

Kurt Feichtmeir

Contact Email: