2018 VAF Abbott Lowell Cummings Book Award

Dell Upton's picture
November 4, 2017 to December 15, 2017
California, United States
Subject Fields: 
Architecture and Architectural History, Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Historic Preservation, Public History, Urban History / Studies

The Abbott Lowell Cummings Prize, named after the founding president of the Vernacular Architecture Forum, is awarded annually to the publication that has made the most significant contribution to the study of vernacular architecture and cultural landscapes. In judging the nominated books, the jurors look for a publication that is:

- based on primary research,

- emphasizes fieldwork that takes seriously the materiality of architecture and landscapes, and draws on particular elements of environments as evidence.

- breaks new ground in interpretation or methodology, and

- contributes generally to the intellectual vitality of vernacular studies in North America.


Entries may come from any discipline concerned with vernacular architecture studies. Books published from January 2016 through December 2017 are eligible for consideration. Edited collections of previously published materials are not eligible.


The deadline for the 2018 Cummings Prize is December 15, 2017.


There is no application form, but a cover letter should include a complete mailing address, phone number and email address in order to notify the candidate should the nominated work receive the award.


Books should be sent directly to each of the three committee members for the Cummings Prize. Please contact the committee chair with any questions at dupton (at) humnet.ucla.edu.


2018 Cummings Prize committee:


Dell Upton, chair

4169 Motor Avenue

Culver City CA 90232


Cynthia Falk
4 Grove Street

Cooperstown, NY 13326


Will Moore


226 Bay State Rd.

Boston MA 02215

Contact Info: 

Dell Upton, chair

4169 Motor Avenue

Culver City CA 90232


Contact Email: