Event announcement: “How to Write a Popular Book on an Unpopular Topic”  Dr. Amy Stanley, Professor of History, Northwestern University 

Gergana Ivanova's picture
Type: 
Lecture
Date: 
June 14, 2021
Location: 
Ohio, United States
Subject Fields: 
Area Studies, Asian History / Studies, Humanities, Japanese History / Studies, Literature

 

“How to Write a Popular Book on an Unpopular Topic” 

Dr. Amy Stanley, Professor of History, Northwestern University 

June 14th, 11am EDT 

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/how-to-write-a-popular-book-on-an-unpopular-topic-tickets-158422918213

This talk focuses on the process of writing and selling a trade book. What are the challenges of writing a book about non-Western history for an American audience? How is writing narrative different from other argumentative strategies in history? And what are some useful approaches to writing about "obscure" topics for popular audiences? 

Dr. Stanley is the author of Stranger in the Shogun's City: A Japanese Woman and Her World (Scribner, 2020), which won the National Book Critics’ Circle Award in Biography, PEN/America Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award in Biography, and was shortlisted for the Baillie Gifford Prize in Non-Fiction. 

 Please Register on WebEx for the Event: 

https://ucincinnati.webex.com/ucincinnati/onstage/g.php?MTID=e67c5547981...

 Monday, June 14, 2021 11:00 am, Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00) 

Tuesday, June 15, 2021 12:00 am, Japan Time (Tokyo, GMT+09:00) 

Monday, June 14, 2021 4:00 pm, GMT Summer Time (London, GMT+01:00) 

Duration:1 hour 30 minutes 

Event number: 120 486 1546 

 Event password: Shogun 

Cosponsors:

University of Cincinnati: Office of the Provost, Charles Phelps Taft Research Center, Transnational Cultural Studies Research Group 

Contact Info: 

Gergana Ivanova

University of Cincinnati

Contact Email: