“Lorenzo Bedeschi” Biennial Prize -- Romolo Murri Foundation, Urbino (Italy)

Matteo Caponi's picture
May 21, 2021 to June 30, 2021
Subject Fields: 
Religious Studies and Theology, Modern European History / Studies, Contemporary History, Intellectual History


The Romolo Murri Foundation awards the “Lorenzo Bedeschi” Biennial Prize for the best unpublished doctoral thesis based on original research, in the field of the history of religious reformism or anti-reformism in the contemporary age (19th-21st centuries), with reference to a specific national context or with a transnational approach.

Eligible candidates must have obtained their PhD in the two years prior to the deadline of this call for application (in the case of joint PhD theses, the date of the earliest doctoral degree defense applies).

The € 2,500 Prize will be announced in Urbino during a ceremony at the Romolo Murri Foundation, on a date to be communicated later.



1. The competition is open to EU citizens as well as to citizens of non-European countries.

2. Theses can be written in one of the following languages: Italian, English, French, German, and Spanish.

3. All applicants must send their PhD thesis in PDF format by 30 June 2021 by e-mail only to the following address: fondazioneromolomurri@gmail.com.

4. The submission must include an application form specifying their name, surname, date of birth, citizenship, telephone number and e-mail address. The name of the University that awarded the PhD degree and the date of the defense are required, including the name of the doctoral tutors. Applicants must also include a short CV reporting their research experiences and publications.

5. An assessment of the submitted theses and a corresponding ranking list will be prepared by a Committee appointed by the Board of Directors of the Romolo Murri Foundation. For the first edition of the Prize (2021) the Committee is composed of: Professor Claus Arnold (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz), Professor Alfonso Botti (Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia), Professor Daniele Menozzi (Scuola Normale Superiore), Professor Renato Moro (Università Roma Tre), and Professor Daniela Saresella (Università di Milano).

6. The members of the Committee may decide not to award any of the theses received.

7. The Romolo Murri Foundation undertakes not to send the PDF files of doctoral theses to anyone but the members of the Committee.

8. The winner agrees to submit an article drawn from his/her doctoral thesis, to be published in the journal Modernism (Romolo Murri Foundation) after peer review.

Contact Info: 

Fondazione Romolo Murri, Urbino (Italy)