2015 OAH Friend of History Award

Kara Hamm's picture
October 1, 2015
Rhode Island, United States
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies

Nomination Deadline: October 1, 2015

First given in 2005, the Friend of History Award recognizes an institution or organization, or an individual working primarily outside college or university settings, for outstanding support of historical research, the public presentation of American history, or the work of the OAH. Recipients will be selected by the OAH Executive Committee from nominations that should include a statement of no more than five pages describing the nominee’s distinguished contributions and, if for an individual, a CV of no more than five pages. The nomination packet also may contain up to ten additional pages of supporting materials that document the nominee’s distinguished service or letters that support the nomination. Nominations will remain active for two years. Please indicate “2016 Friend of History Award” in the subject line and send materials as PDF files by midnight (PST) on October 1, 2015 to friendofhistory@oah.org.

OAH Executive Committee Members:

Jon Butler, Yale University/University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, President (Committee Chair)
Nancy F. Cott, Harvard University, President-Elect
Edward L. Ayers, University of Richmond, Vice President
Jay S. Goodgold, Independent Investor, Treasurer
Patty Limerick, Center of the American West, Immediate Past President
Katherine M. Finley, Executive Director, ex officio
Edward T. Linenthal, Executive Editor/Editor, Journal of American History, ex officio


Contact Info: 

Committee Coordinator
Organization of American Historians
112 North Bryan Avenue
Bloomington IN 47408-4141

Contact Email: