2016 OAH Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History

Kara Hamm's picture
January 1, 2016
Rhode Island, United States
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Environmental History / Studies

Deadline: January 1, 2016

A revised award announcement will be under consideration by the OAH Executive Board at its fall meeting, so please check the OAH website after November 22 for the latest guidelines.

The award recognizes excellence in historical projects for, by, and with the National Park Service and is intended to honor projects that make the NPS exemplary in promoting civic dialogue about and appreciation of American history. The award will be given to projects, parks, or programs and may include work by NPS staff, students, contractors, volunteers, institutions, or cooperators. Eligible projects may include the full spectrum of non-fiction media such as digital and internet efforts, museums, public exhibitions, outreach and public programs, and print media including brochures, handbooks, or monographs undertaken entirely within the agency or in collaboration with students, contractors, volunteers, or institutions. The historical project may pertain to a single national park unit or to the National Park Service system. The award will recognize the authors, designers, or curators of the project as well as park superintendents and other NPS managers who provide leadership on its behalf. The annual meeting registration of up to two NPS employees will be waived to allow recipients to attend the meeting and receive the award.

Nominations for the award must include a 1,000-word description and overview of the project, two letters of recommendation from individuals or groups familiar with the project, and the names of NPS staff members associated with the work as well as their supervisors at the park or regional level. Nominations are encouraged to include information documenting the extent of the project's public engagement, such as data about the numbers and demographics of the people who participated in onsite programs or may have visited online and engaged in the project beyond its physical presence. Nominations and supporting letters must be sent to the committee members listed below.

Nominations and supporting letters may be submitted either by ground mail or electronically. Electronic nominations should be sent by e-mail to the three committee members listed below as PDF files. Please indicate "2016 Stanton-Horton Award" in the subject line.

If submitting electronically, please send a copy of any supporting materials, such as DVDs, photos, or publications, via ground mail to the three committee members listed below.

Selection will be made by the OAH Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History Committee by February 2016, at which time the award recipient will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation. The award will be presented at the 2016 OAH Annual Meeting in Providence, Rhode Island, April 7–10.

Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History Committee

David H. Glassberg (Committee Chair)
University of Massachusetts
Department of History
Herter Hall
161 Presidents Drive
Amherst MA 01003-9312

Eola L. Dance
c/o Blackwater Natural Wildlife Refuge
2145 Key Wallace Drive
Cambridge MD 21613

Dwight T. Pitcaithley
804 Canterbury Arc
Las Cruces NM 88005
Affiliation: New Mexico State University

Deadline: January 1, 2016

Contact Info: 

Committee Coordinator
Organization of American Historians
112 North Bryan Avenue
Bloomington IN 47408-4141

Contact Email: