Roundtable: Special Issue on “Archival Lives of Popular Culture,” The Journal of Popular Culture

Rüstem Ertuğ Altınay's picture
Type: 
Event
Date: 
April 22, 2021
Subject Fields: 
Archival Science, Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Library and Information Science, Popular Culture Studies, Research and Methodology

“Archival Lives of Popular Culture,” the special issue of The Journal of Popular Culture guest edited by Rüstem Ertuğ Altınay and Olivera Jokić, examines the complex relationship between archives and popular culture in the context of the "archival turn." Bringing together essays by scholars and practitioners diverse in their geographic focus and objects of interest, the special issue explores how studying the various lives of popular culture materials can fundamentally advance our conceptions of the archive, and how using the archive as a lens can enrich the study of popular culture. The essays show how mutual and revitalizing pressure between archives and popular culture produce critical knowledge about the desires that shape our social and political imagination of the future.

At the roundtable, the authors and the editors will discuss their essays and their broader significance in the context of academic, activist, and pedagogical work on archives and popular culture.

Speakers: Ann Larabee and Kurt Milberger on behalf of The Journal of Popular Culture; special issue editors Rüstem Ertuğ Altınay and Olivera Jokić; and the authors Lucie Česálková, Stanley H. Griffin, Lizabé Lambrechts, Schalk van der Merwe, Zeb Tortorici, İlker Hepkaner, Vivian L. Huang, William Ross, James K. Harris, and Pai Wang.

Time: Thursday, April 22, 8 pm Istanbul (GTM+3)

1pm New York

6 pm London

7 pm Central European Time

Zoom Webinar ID: 841 8439 1961

Host: Kadir Has University

Please register at https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_peu1Y1XDTvKI8nKdZQ-37g

The special issue is available at https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/toc/15405931/2020/53/6