The Society of Automotive Historians Richard Scharchburg Student Paper Award, 2021

John Mohr's picture
June 15, 2021
Alabama, United States
Subject Fields: 
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology, Military History, World History / Studies, Economic History / Studies, Labor History / Studies

In order to encourage research and writing effort among university students in the area of automotive history, the Society confers its annual award for the best student paper in the auto history field.  The award is named for Richard Scharchburg, the late Professor of History at Kettering University, eminent automotive historian, and past vice president of the Society of Automotive Historians. Persons submitting papers must be enrolled at educational institutions (upper-class undergraduate or graduate level) at the time of submission.  This competition is international in scope, but papers must be in the English language.  Papers already published or scheduled for publication will not be accepted.


Manuscripts should not exceed 10,000 words, and should be double-spaced.  An abstract is requested.  Judging criteria include clear statement of purpose and testable hypothesis, accuracy and thoroughness of research, originality of the research, documentation, quality and extent of bibliographic resources, and writing style.  Diagrams, graphs, or photographs may be included.  Submissions are to be electronic, in Word or PDF files only, to the e-mail address below.


Possible subjects include but are not limited to historical aspects of automobile companies and their leaders, regulation of the auto industry, financial and economic aspects of the industry, the social effects of the automobile, highway development, environmental matters, and automotive marketing, design, engineering and safety.


A cover letter should be included stating the student’s address, school, program, advisor, and stage in studies.  The student should indicate how the paper submitted will relate to his or her professional future.  Submissions must e-mail dated by June 15, 2021.  All papers submitted will be acknowledged.

Contact Info: 

Dr. John Mohr, Chair, Student Awards Committee

Department of History

The University of Alabama in Huntsville                    

301 Sparkman Drive NW               

Huntsville, AL 35899                                                   


Tel: 256-824-2571

Contact Email: