Call for Book Prize Nominations in the Humanities: Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies

Grant Osborn's picture
February 15, 2021
Subject Fields: 
Eastern Europe History / Studies, European History / Studies, Humanities, Modern European History / Studies, Immigration & Migration History / Studies

The Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies is now accepting nominations for the 2022 Laura Shannon Prize, which will be awarded to a humanities book published in 2019 or 2020.

The Laura Shannon Prize, which carries a $10,000 award, is administered by the Nanovic Institute for European Studies at the University of Notre Dame. The Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best book in European studies that transcends a focus on any one country, state, or people to stimulate new ways of thinking about contemporary Europe as a whole. (Please note that “contemporary” is construed broadly, and books about particular countries or regions have done well in the process so long as there are implications for the remainder of Europe.)

Nominations are submitted by a simple electronic form and may be made by authors or publishers. Each submission requires only two copies of each nominated work. The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2021. Please note: copies of the book do not need to arrive by the deadline so long as the electronic form is completed. Additional details about the prize and the nomination form are available on the Nanovic Institute's website.

If you have any questions, please contact Grant Osborn at or (574) 631-3545.

Contact Info: 
Grant W. Osborn
Assistant Director
Nanovic Institute for European Studies
Keough School of Global Affairs
University of Notre Dame
1060 Nanovic Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556
Contact Email: