Bradford Fellowship

Bob Browning's picture
October 1, 2017 to March 15, 2018
United States
Subject Fields: 
Maritime History / Studies, Military History

The James C. Bradford Dissertation Research Fellowship in Naval History

Awarded by the

North American Society for Oceanic History


Amount:                                  $1,000

Closing Date for Applications:  15 March 2018

Send Application Materials To:

Announcement of Award:          15 May 2018


The North American Society for Oceanic History is offering one dissertation fellowship in U.S. naval or North American naval history for 2018.  The fellowship is named in honor of NASOH past-president Dr. James C. Bradford, in recognition of his distinguished contributions to the field of American naval history.


Eligibility: Applicants must have completed all requirements for the Ph.D. at the time of application and have an approved dissertation proposal on file at their degree-granting institution.
      Topics in all periods of United States and North American naval history, including strategy, tactics, and operations; institutional development and administration; biography, personnel, and social development; exploration, science, and technology and science; and policy and diplomacy.

Application Documents: Applications should include:

1). A completed and signed application cover sheet (the blank application cover sheet is available


2). Curriculum Vitae;

            3). Copy of approved dissertation proposal;

            4). Description of the status of the project (not over 1,000 words);

            5). Brief statement of proposed use of the fellowship funds;

            6). The names and contact information for the dissertation committee chair and two other 

                   individuals asked to submit letters of recommendation.


Submission and Deadline: All application materials and letters of recommendations are due on 15 March 2018 and should be sent by e-mail with pdf attachments to:

Selection:   Applications will be evaluated by a three-person committee of NASOH members and the recipient notified by 15 May 2018.