2021 Neu-Whitrow Prize Announced for Innovative Tools for Managing, Documenting, and Analyzing Sources

Stephen Weldon's picture
April 15, 2021
Subject Fields: 
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology

The Neu-Whitrow Prize is awarded every four years to an individual or team for creating the most innovative research tool for managing, documenting and analyzing sources within the history of science and technology.

The Prize is awarded by the Commission on Bibliography and Documentation (CBD) of the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science and Technology/Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPST/DHST). The CBD invites submissions for the third Neu-Whitrow Prize to be awarded in 2021. The primary goal is to encourage the development of innovative research tools which includes bibliographies, archival finding aids and other scholarly resource discovery tools.

The award will be announced at a ceremony to be held at the 26th ICHST conference in Prague. The winner receives a prize of US$500 and a certificate. The winner will also be invited to be a member of the Advisory Board of the CBD.

The entries will be judged on their content, usability, and precision. They can be either print-based or digital. Information about the prize, eligibility and submission process can be found here.

The deadline for submissions is April 15, 2021.

Contact Info: 

Contact the President of the Commission on Bibliography and Documentation if you have questions: cbd.dhst@gmail.com

Contact Email: