Call for Nominations for the 2020 AIHP Glenn Sonnedecker Prize—Deadline Extended!

GT Bond's picture
July 31, 2020
Subject Fields: 
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology, American History / Studies, Health and Health Care, Public Health

The American Institute of the History of Pharmacy has extended the deadline for nominations for the 2020 AIHP Glenn Sonnedecker Prize. The deadline for receipt of nominations is now July 31, 2020.

The AIHP Glenn Sonnedecker Prize is awarded to the author(s) of the best published article during the preceding calendar year about the history of some facet of pharmacy practice or pharmacy education in the United States. The award comes with a $1,000 monetary prize.

Publications eligible for nomination for the 2020 Sonnedecker Prize must meet the following criteria:

  1. Published in a peer-reviewed journal during 2019 (including electronic appearance);
  2. focused directly on the history of some facet of pharmacy practice or pharmacy education in the United States (including the Colonial period);
  3. represent exemplary historical research methodology and interpretation; and
  4. be written clearly.

Nominations are welcomed from any source, including self-nominations by authors. Nominations (including a PDF copy of the article being nominated) should be emailed to AIHP’s Executive Director at with “Sonnedecker Prize” in the subject line or mailed to AIHP’s office at 777 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI  53705. Nominations received after the extended July 31, 2020 deadline will not be considered.

Nominations will be reviewed by AIHP’s Committee on Awards. If the prize is awarded in 2020, the winner will be announced in the fall.

AIHP established the Sonnedecker Prize in 2015 to honor the contributions of Glenn Sonnedecker to the field of the history of pharmacy. Professor Sonnedecker was a member of the faculty of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy and served as the Executive Director of AIHP for many years.

Further information about the AIHP Glenn Sonnedecker Prize, including a list of past winners, is available on AIHP’s website.

Contact Info: 

Dennis Birke, AIHP Executive Director

Contact Email: