Southern Historical Association accepting submissions for the Smith Book Award

Dean Kostantaras's picture
August 1, 2020
Louisiana, United States
Subject Fields: 
British History / Studies, French History / Studies, Eastern Europe History / Studies, German History / Studies, Italian History / Studies

The European Section of the Southern Historical Association is pleased to announce that submissions are being accepted for the Smith Book Award. Rules and eligibility are posted below. Please note that the deadline for submissions is 1 August 2020, and that copies of books under consideration must be sent to all three award committee members.

Thank you, and please let us know if you have any questions.

The Smith Award Committee:

Dean Kostantaras, 2020 Chair, Northwestern State University of Louisiana


John Frymire, University of Missouri


Adam R. Seipp, Texas A&M University




The Smith Award is named for Professor Charles E. Smith (1906-1959), who taught ancient, medieval, English, Renaissance, and Reformation history at Louisiana State University and served as Dean from 1934 until his untimely death in 1959. The Award is given by the European History Section of the Southern Historical Association for the best book published in European history by a member of the Section or a faculty member of a Southern college or university, or by a Southern press. “European” is defined as encompassing the entire continent, including Russia, from pre-history to the present.

The award is given in even years and carries a cash value of $250. Books published between August 1 of the year the award was previously given (2018) and July 31 of the year the award is to be given are eligible for consideration. Criteria for selection include quality and originality of research, new and stimulating interpretations and insights, and literary quality. Eligible books may be recommended to the chair of the Smith Committee by their authors or publishers or by any member of the Section. The person making the recommendation is responsible for ensuring that each committee member receives a copy by August 1 of the year the award is given.

Additional information about the Southern Historical Association can be found at:

Contact Info: 

Dean Kostantaras


Contact Email: