Western History Association-Scholarships, Fellowships, and Honors: Deadline Summer 2020

Leah Cargin's picture
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Borderlands, History Education, Native American History / Studies, Public History

The WHA has eight scholarships, fellowships, and honors avaliable, all of which are due in summer 2020. 

Charles Redd Center Teaching Western History Award

The Western History Association and the Charles Redd Center are sponsoring four K-12 Teaching awards that will provide teachers the opportunity to attend and present at the Western History Association Annual Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico, October 14-17, 2020. Selected teachers will share their lesson plans and teaching strategies at a teaching panel on Saturday, October 17. The Award includes the following: conference registration, award ceremony ticket, ticket to the opening reception, and $500 towards conference-related costs. An added benefit is the opportunity to be in conversation with leading scholars in the field of Western history, with your lesson ideas and pedagogical expertise adding significantly to the field.

Gordon Bakken Award of Merit

The Gordon Bakken Award of Merit is given for outstanding service to the field of western history and to the Western History Association. To nominate a WHA member, send a letter to the Award of Merit Committee members explaining why the individual deserves to be recognized.

Indian Student Conference Scholarship

Two $500 annual awards will be given to Native American students, undergraduate, M.A., or Ph.D., to help lessen the burden of costs to attend the annual Western History Association. In addition, the cost of conference registration and tickets to the WHA Welcoming Reception, Graduate Student Reception, Presidential luncheon, and Indian Scholars Luncheon will be included in the award.

Louise Pubols Public History Prize

On July 24, 2017, the communities of western and public history experienced a significant loss with the passing of long-time WHA member Louise Pubols. The WHA Council created the Louise Pubols Public History Prize to honor her prize-winning publications, landmark exhibitions, and extraordinary service to the WHA. In keeping with Louise's deep commitment to public history, the Pubols Prize will support the attendance of a public historian to the WHA's annual meeting. The overwhelming generosity of donations from Louise's friends and family fully-funded this prize in the fall of 2017. The inaugural scholarship from the Louise Pubols Public History Prize was made at the 2017 WHA Conference in San Diego.

Sara Jackson Graduate Student Award

In recognition of Sara Jackson’s commitment to minority students and graduate research, the WHA provides an annual award of $500 in support of graduate student (M.A. or Ph.D.) research on the North American West. The award has been endowed by the friends and colleagues of Sara Jackson. Preference will be given to African American or other minority students.

Robert Trennert-Peter Iverson Scholarship

The Trennert-Iverson scholarship provides two $500 annual awards to be given to graduate students at the M.A. or Ph.D. level to help lessen the burden of costs to attend the annual Western History Association conference. In addition, the scholarship will pay for the cost of conference registration and tickets to the welcoming reception, the graduate student reception, and the Awards Banquet.

Walter Rundell Award

In recognition of the late Walter Rundell, Jr.’s commitment to graduate education in the field of Western History, the Western History Association offers a graduate student award for $1500. The applicant should be a doctoral candidate who has completed comprehensive examinations for their dissertation subject on the North American West.

WHA Graduate Student Prize

The Western History Association is pleased to accept applications for the WHA Graduate Student Prize. Inaugurated in 2014, the prize is designed to foster graduate student professional development and to enhance collegial citizenship within the organization. Up to ten students may receive the award. Each recipient will receive: a one-year WHA Membership, complimentary conference registration and tickets to the Welcoming Reception and Graduate Student Reception, and three nights of lodging in the conference hotel.

WHA-Huntington Library Martin Ridge Fellowship

In recognition of Martin Ridge's long service to both the Western History Association and The Huntington Library, this $3500, one-month research fellowship at The Huntington Library has been established in his honor. Funds are allotted as follows: $500 from the WHA and $3000 from The Huntington Library. Recipients of the fellowship are expected to be in continuous residence at The Huntington Library for one month. Eligible applicants must have a Ph.D. or equivalent or be a doctoral student at the dissertation stage. The fellowship will be in residence during the next academic year (the 2020 fellowship recipient will schedule their residence with The Huntington Library Director of Research during the 2021-2022 academic calendar.