Organization of American Historians: Awards and Prizes

Kara Hamm's picture
June 26, 2019
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies


Avery O. Craven Award
Given annually for the most original book on the coming of the Civil War, the Civil War years, or the Era of Reconstruction, with the exception of works of purely military history.

Merle Curti Social History Award
Given annually for the best book in American social history

Merle Curti Intellectual History Award
Given annually for the best book in American intellectual history.

John D'Emilio LGBTQ History Dissertation Award
Given annually for the best PhD dissertation in U.S. LGBTQ history.

Friend of History Award
Given annually to recognize an institution or organization, or an individual working primarily outside college or university settings, for outstanding support for historical research, the public presentation of American history, or the work of the OAH.

Ellis W. Hawley Prize
Given annually for the best book-length historical study of the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present..

Darlene Clark Hine Award
Given annually to the author of the best book in African American women's and gender history.

Richard W. Leopold Prize
Given every two years to the author or editor of the best book on foreign policy, military affairs, historical activities of the federal government, documentary histories, or biography written by a U.S. government historian or federal contract historian.

Lawrence W. Levine Award
Given annually for the best book in American cultural history.

Lerner-Scott Prize
Given annually for the best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women’s history.

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award
Given annually for the best book by a historian on the civil rights struggle from the beginnings of the nation to the present.

David Montgomery Award
Given annually by the OAH with co-sponsorship by the Labor and Working-Class History Association (LAWCHA) for the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history.

Mary Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History
Given annually for "the most original" book in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History (including North America and the Caribbean prior to 1776).

James A. Rawley Prize
Given annually for the best book dealing with the history of race relations in the United States.

Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award
Given annually to an individual or individuals whose contributions have significantly enriched our understanding and appreciation of American history.

Frederick Jackson Turner Award
Given annually to the author of a first scholarly book dealing with some aspect of American history.


Huggins-Quarles Award
Given annually to one or two graduate students of color to assist them with expenses related to travel to research collections for the completion of the PhD dissertation.

John Higham Research Fellowship
Annual fellowship open to all graduate students writing doctoral dissertations for a PhD in American history.

Louis Pelzer Memorial Award
Candidates for graduate degrees are invited to submit essays dealing with any period or topic in the history of the United States.

Presidents' Travel Fund for Emerging Historians
Annual fund provides travel stipends of up to $750 for up to five graduate students and recent PhDs in history (no more than four years from date of degree) whose papers or panels/sessions have been accepted by the OAH Program Committee for inclusion on the annual meeting program. Preference will be given to those who are presenting at the OAH Annual Meeting for the first time.

Samuel and Marion Merrill Graduate Student Travel Grants
Annual grants, supported by a bequest from the Merrill trust, help sponsor the travel-related costs of graduate students who are confirmed as participants on the OAH conference program and who incur expenses traveling to the annual meeting. Five awards of $500 each may be awarded each year. Graduate students who are PhD candidates and who are presenting a paper or serving as a commentator on a session or panel are eligible to apply.

Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History
Annual award recognizing excellence in National Park Service historical efforts that make the NPS a leader in promoting public understanding of and engagement with American history.

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Teacher of the Year Award
Given annually in recognition of the contributions made by precollegiate teachers to improve history education within the field of American history.


Erik Barnouw Award
Given annually in recognition of outstanding programming on television, or in documentary film, concerned with American history, the study of American history, and/or the promotion of American history.


Willi Paul Adams Award
Given every two years for the best book on American history published in a language other than English.


Ray Allen Billington Prize
Given every two years for the best book on the history of native and/or settler peoples in frontier, border, and borderland zones of intercultural contact in any century to the present and to include works that address the legacies of those zones.


David Thelen Award
Given every two years for the best article on American history written in a language other than English.


Binkley-Stephenson Award
Given annually for the best article that appeared in the Journal of American History during the preceding calendar year (March, June, September, December issues).


Germany residency program:
Thanks to a generous grant from the Fritz Thyssen Foundation, the OAH International Committee is pleased to continue the Germany Residency Program at the University of Tübingen in 2020.

Japan Residencies Program:
In cooperation with and support from the Japan-United States Friendship Commission, the OAH and the Japanese Association for American Studies (JAAS) plan to send two American scholars to Japanese universities for two-week residencies in the summer of 2020 (pending funding).


Contact Info: 

Committee Coordinator
Organization of American Historians
112 North Bryan Avenue
Bloomington IN 47408-4141

Contact Email: