TOFAC 2019 Award Titles and Description

Olajumoke Yacob-Haliso's picture
July 1, 2019 to July 3, 2019
Subject Fields: 
African History / Studies

The 9th Toyin Falola Annual International Conference on Africa and the African Diaspora (TOFAC 2019)


Venue: Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo, Ogun State, Nigeria

Date: July 1-3, 2019 (arrival, June 30; departure, July 4th)


Conference Information Update No. 5

TOFAC 2019 Award Titles and Description

At the Conference Banquet and Awards Ceremony slated for Tuesday, July 2, 2019 at 6.30pm, a number of highly distinguished individuals will be recognized and celebrated with awards for their contributions to scholarship and society. The TOFAC awards mirror the awards given by our partners, the Annual Africa Conference at the University of Texas at Austin and are jointly awarded by them, by the host institution, Babcock University, and the TOFAC Board. This year, Babcock University is distinctly honoured to introduce two new award categories to the template: The Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti Prize for Distinguished Public Activism and Service, and the Léopold Sédar Senghor Prize for African Cultural Creativity and Impact.

Here is the full awards list and description. We will announce the awardees very soon in one of our subsequent updates: watch out!

Ali Mazrui Award for Excellence in Scholarship: This award is given to an African academic either at home or in the Diaspora who has distinguished himself/herself in their academic career as a scholar and academic leader. It is given to recognise impactful scholarship and to encourage scholars to be more committed to the propagation of knowledge that advances the cause of Africa in the comity of nations.

Wangari Maathai Award for Innovative Scholarship and Academic Leadership recognizes the stellar work of a scholar whose contributions to enhancing the future of Africa is in areas expected to have an enduring transformational impact.  The recipient of this award is expected to ultimately embody and honor in quality and stature the work of Wangari Maathai, who was a scientist, scholar, feminist, environmentalist and conservationist, politician, distinguished academic chair, goodwill ambassador, recipient of fifteen honorary doctorates, Nobel Peace laureate, academic and public intellectual, philanthropist, Messenger of peace, founder of the Green Belt Movement, and Africa’s most recognized and decorated activist.

Thabo Mbeki Award for Excellence in Leadership is awarded to an African who has distinguished him/herself in the public or private sector through visionary, dynamic, developmental, people-centred, institution-building and ethical leadership. The recipient of the award must be a high calibre individual with an unblemished record of outstanding service either in the public or private sector. The awardee must be someone who is committed to the project of African Renaissance and African Unity.

Kwame Nkrumah Award for Service to Pan-Africanism is awarded to an African who has contributed in veritable ways to the realisation of the vision of African unity and development both at home and abroad. The awardee must be a person of integrity, dedicated to the social and political progress of African nations, and committed to the task of fostering African unity both in words and actions.

Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti Prize for Distinguished Public Activism and Service is given to an African who has distinguished her/himself in courageously promoting the common cause of humanity on various fronts, and particularly with respect to women’s rights. The person must have demonstrated commitment to taking up the cause of the voiceless and in working with others towards the progress and welfare of women in society. The award is named after one of Africa’s leading nationalists, feminist activist, educator, local, national and international organizer and movement builder, mother and distinguished public figure. This award is instituted for the first time at this year’s TOFAC.

Léopold Sédar Senghor Prize for African Cultural Creativity and Impact is awarded to an African artist of any medium or form whose works are devoted to harnessing African cultural heritages in creative ways for social consciousness and impact. This Prize is named after the father of Negritude, the visionary poet, politician and first president of Senegal, Léopold Sédar Senghor, one of the most important intellectuals in African history. This award is also proudly instituted at TOFAC 2019 for the first time.

Nelson Mandela Distinguished Africanist Award is awarded to an African who has distinguished him/herself in public leadership positions. The Award is a lifetime achievement recognition conferred on an African with a lifetime commitment to the advancement of the study of Africa and/or a lifetime of commitment to service for its people. The awardee must be known for promotion of freedom and rights for Africans both at the national and international levels. He/she must have shown resilience, courage and determination in the pursuit of African liberation.

***        ***        ***

Conference Website: Please continue to visit the conference website for regular updates and information, at:

Contact Us: Reach us by email on all matters at and by phone at the numbers below.

For TOFAC 2019 LoC:



Contact Info: 

Olajumoke Yacob-Haliso,

Babcock University

Contact Email: